College Application Essays

Posted on: 2010 -11-29

American universities often require an applicant to provide a personal statement. The personal statement is the most time-consuming task when preparing college application materials. It is used by U.S. university admission committees to give them a more in-depth and comprehensive understanding of the applicant's quality, personality and one or two things in his/her life experience that have shaped the applicant up to the present. The content of a personal statement should focus on what the student has learned in his/her own life experience. Hence, it shouldn't be a mechanical list of the student's background. Whatever topics colleges ask you to write about in your personal statement, when writing it, be sure to focus on yourself and write how you are different from others; in addition to describing a meaningful experience, you should also express your insights and ideas. You can choose different methods to proceed, but the core is to select a unique main idea, and pick up one or two typical examples to write about. Your essay should be like a work of literature, have vivid descriptions, catching the university admission committee's eyes when they are reading your personal statement. In addition, U.S. universities also require applicants to provide a few small essays. The length of a personal statement is usually about 400-700 words. You should avoid a personal statement of more than 1000 words.

Leave your personal statement and small essays alone for a few days before editing the essays. You’ll have to edit your draft over and over, check for spelling and grammatical errors in your essays. Ask several people to read your draft, listen to their views and suggestions. However, it is worth remembering that all U.S. universities require personal statement and small essays to be written by yourself. You can ask people to provide suggestions on your college admission application essays and help you polish the sentences, but if the university admission committees finds that a student's college application essays were written by someone else, the student might be denied admission. Therefore, you should focus on the unique content of the article and having no grammatical errors in your essay, but should not ask people to write sentences or add gorgeous and rare vocabulary to your essay that cannot be written at your level of English.

College Essay Topics

Regardless of whether it is a personal statement or small essay, the titles of application essays can be various and even strange, but should cover no more than the following aspects:

(1) The effect of a person, a character in a film or a book, or a creative work on you

By describing the impact of the object you worship (people, art, music, science or other creative work that has had a significant impact on you), you allow the university admission committees learn something of your outlook on life and your personal values.

(2) Unique Environment of Growth

American universities pay close attention to a student's unique cultural or personal background. For example, if you came from a family living in extreme poverty, you may ask yourself what challenges your life has given to you, and what helped you to grow.

(3) Important Life Experience

Describe a major personal experience, achievement, risk, or ethical dilemma that you have faced and its influence on you to highlight your uniqueness and difference.

(IV) Why Have You Chosen this University?

This is a common question. If you use the same essay to answer why you choose this university for each school, the university admissions committee will think that you do not count their school as one of your favorite colleges. 

(5) Personal Talent

Essays on the subject of extracurricular activities can allow universities to understand a student's ability and disposition. If you like an activity, ask yourself: Why do I like this activity? What challenges or frustrations have I encountered during my practice? What gives me pleasure from this activity? What feelings and thoughts do I have about this activity?

(6) Community Service

In addition to extra-curricular activities, universities value volunteer experience and community service, because American universities want to see you are a caring person. Hence, thinking carefully about the volunteer activities you have done, describe your volunteer experience and insights.

However,there are also special topics:, such as :

“Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new.” – A. Einstein. Describe your most interesting mistake.
-George washington University

You have just completed your 300-page autobiography. Please submit page 217.
-University of Pennsylvania

You are about to embark on a lengthy road trip in a two-passenger car with no radio. What person—real or fictional—would you choose to accompany you and why?
- Marquette University

Describe the future.
- New York University

There is a significant difference between a stupid mistake and a clever one. Give an example of a “clever” mistake you have made and explain how it benefited you or others.
- Northwestern University

If you could change any event in the course of history, what would you change and why?
-Trinity College

美国大学申请文书写作要点

发表日期: 2010 年11月29日

      美国大学通常要求申请者提供一篇个人陈述。个人陈述是整个大学申请材料准备中最耗时的部分。个人陈述的目的是为了让 美国大学招生委员会更深入全面地了解申请人的品质,个性以及人生经历的一两件影响申请人到现在的事。个人陈述的内容应该是着重写学生通过发生在自己的生活经历或周围的人或事中所学到的东西, 而不应该是申请学生背景的机械罗列。不管所申请的大学要求的个人陈述题目如何, 在写个人陈述时一定要围绕自己来写,写你和别人不一样的特质; 除了描述出对你而言有意义的经历或人物之外,也写出你的感悟和思想。可以选择不同的主线去展开,但核心是要选择一个独特的主题, 挑出一两件典型实例来写。你的文章要像一篇文学作品,使用形象化的描述,创造生动的意像, 让 大学招生委员会在看你的个人陈述时,眼前一亮。除此以外,美国大学还要求申请者提供数篇小作文 。 个人陈述的长度一般在400-700字之间,要尽可能避免个人陈述超过1000字。

个人陈述和小作文写完后先放几天,再拿出来修改。你要一遍又一遍地修改你的草稿,检查文章中的拼写和语法错误。并请几个人看你的草稿,听取他们的意见和建议。但值得提醒的是所有美国大学都要求个人陈述等其他小作文必须自己写,你可以请人对你的大学入学申请文书提建议,  帮你润色。但如果大学招生委员会发现某个学生的大学入学申请文书是请人代写,这个学生很可能会被招生委员会取消入学资格。因此你要把重点放在独特的文章内容和句子无语法错误上,而不是请人撰写或添加你的英语水平根本无法写得出的华丽的句子和生僻的单词上。

 大学申请文书题目

无论是个人陈述还是小作文,  入学申请文书的题目可以千奇百怪, 但无外乎以下几个方面:

(一)身边人或电影、书上的人物以及创作型作品对你的影响

通过描述所崇拜的对象(对你有重大影响的人物或艺术、音乐、科学等创作型作品)对你造成的影响, 可以 让大学招生委员会看出你的的人生观和价值观。

(二)独特的成长环境

美国大学在挑选学生的时候都比较注重有独特文化背景或个人成长背景的学生。比如你来自一个生活极度贫困的家庭, 不妨问一下生活给了你何种挑战, 对于你成长又有哪些帮助。

(三)重要的人生经历

描述个人的一个重大经历、成就、风险或曾面临的道德困境以及它对你的影响, 从而展现你与众不同之处。

(四)为什么选择此大学

这是一个常见的问题。如果你泛泛而谈,对每个学校都用同一篇文章来回答为什么选择此大学,会让大学招生委员会认为你并未把他们学校当做自己最喜欢的大学之一来申请。 

(五)个人才艺

关于课外活动的作文题目,可以了解学生的能力、性格等。如你喜欢某项活动,不妨问一下自己:你为什么会喜欢这项活动?你练习过程中遇到过挑战或挫折吗?这项活动带给你的乐趣是什么?你又有什么心得体会?

(六)社会公益活动的经历

除课外活动外, 美国大学很看重学生的志愿者经历、社区服务,因为美国大学希望看到学生是富有爱心的。仔细想一下你曾经做过的志愿者活动, 描述你的志愿者经历和感悟。

不过,也有比较特殊的作文题目, 比如:

“Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new.” – A. Einstein. Describe your most interesting mistake.
-乔治华盛顿大学

You have just completed your 300-page autobiography. Please submit page 217.
-宾夕法尼亚大学

You are about to embark on a lengthy road trip in a two-passenger car with no radio. What person—real or fictional—would you choose to accompany you and why?
—马凯特大学

Describe the future.
—纽约大学

There is a significant difference between a stupid mistake and a clever one. Give an example of a “clever” mistake you have made and explain how it benefited you or others.
—西北大学

If you could change any event in the course of history, what would you change and why?
-圣三一学院