Which Extracurricular Activities Are Attractive to Colleges?

Posted on: 2010-11-29

Good grades and high SAT scores along cannot guarantee a student admission to an elite university, because American universities also see great value in a student's performance outside the classroom. University admissions committees look for students who can bring fresh blood to its university community, which is often reflected through extracurricular activities (Chinese: 课外活动) .

American universities want to know how you spend your time outside the classroom, especially how you affect life in the high school community and the community you live in, and whether you have made a significant contribution to it. University admissions committees want to choose students that will provide social and intellectual contributions to their university community. Hence, what colleges look for is talent, passion, dedication and achievements. The basic strategy of choosing extracurricular activities is choosing only a few activities, but doing them very well, showing your leadership skills and/or special talent and passion. Schools want to see you participating in the extracurricular activities that you love and stand out in it. Join a few clubs (2 or 3 activities), and stay in these clubs for at least three years or more. You should invest yourself whole-heartedly, and try your best to acquire leadership position in these clubs.

Which extracurricular activities are good?

1) Genuine Interest (Chinese: 真实的兴趣)

Participate in extracurricular activities that you have a deep interest in and truly love, rather than simply because it may be helpful to your college application.

2)Leadership (Chinese: 领导才能)

Leadership is an important characteristic of a strong candidate for the top schools. Do not focus on what position you get, but rather pay attention to the impact (Chinese: 影响力).

3)Commitment (Chinese: 持之以恒 )

You shouldn't attend too many extracurricular activities. Instead, you should ensure that you have spent a lot of time in each extracurricular activity you participate in, and have participated for certain length of time. Universities place a high value on which practical things a student has done in this extracurricular activity, whether he has invested serious effort in it, what he has harvested from the extracurricular activities, and how long he has been in it. Admission professionals tend to prefer the depth far greater than the breadth.

4)A record of Excellence (Chinese: 杰出成就)

You can get the attention of the admission committee staff by being brilliant in one area or different from others. Whether your contribution is significant is often one of the deciding factors regarding whether or not you will be accepted by an elite university. It could be succeeding in natural science, such as patents, the title of Little Scientist, Technology Innovation Award, Intel Competition Award, International Olympiad Medals; It could also be social and human achievements, including participation in Model United Nations Competition, or the Global Youth Leadership Summit, significant contributions to the expansion of the club members ...

By focusing on a diverse range of extracurricular activities related to each other, you will demonstrate several important features valuable to admissions committees at top universities.

Extracurricular activities can be any of the following items:

  1. Various sports.
  2. Student work: planning, organizing and leadership skills in all kinds of student activities.
  3. Various clubs.
  4. Social activities: for example, fund-raising for the Red Cross Relief Fund or social welfare activities, supporting the poor in deprived areas, etc.
  5. Art performances: music, drama, dance and other art activities.
  6. Bulletin Editor: surveys, interviews, writing, painting, etc.
  7. Work experience: paid work, unpaid internships, helping with the family business.
  8. Taking care of younger siblings and other household responsibilities.

怎样的课外活动才是美国大学想要的呢?

发表日期: 2010年11月29日

     光是成绩好和SAT考试分数高是不能保证一个学生进好的大学的, 美国大学很重视学生课堂以外的表现,美国大学招生委员会寻找的是能给大学社区带来新鲜血液的人, 这些常常通过课外活动(Extra-curricular Activities) 来体现。

   美国大学想知道你是如何安排在课堂外的时间的,特别是你是如何影响你高中社区和生活的社区, 并作出重大贡献的。大学录取委员会人员要选择他们认为会对大学社区的社交和才智方面有贡献的学生, 学校寻找的是天赋、热情、执着和成就。选择课外活动的基本策略是选择少数几项活动,但把他们做得很好, 显示出一定的领导能力和/或一些特殊的天赋和激情。学校希望看到你参与的是你所热爱的课外活动,并且在这事上脱颖而出。加入少数几个俱乐部(2或3项活动),并至少在这些俱乐部呆满三年或更长。要全身心地投入进去,并努力获得这些俱乐部的领导地位。

     怎样的课外活动才是好的呢?

1)真实的兴趣 (Genuine Interest)

   参加那些你真正热爱的狂热兴趣的课外活动, 而不是因为它看起来可能对申请有帮助。

2)领导才能(leadership)

   领导才能是顶尖学校最强申请人的重要特征。不要把重点放在你担当什么职位上,要关注是否有影响力(impact)。

3)持之以恒 (Commitment)

   参加课外活动不能贪多,但得确保所参加的的每一项课外活动上你都花了大量时间, 已参加了一段时间。美国大学看重的是在这个课外活动中学生究竟做了哪些实事,是不是认真努力地为之付出了, 在课外活动中有什么收获,坚持了多长时间等。招生专业人士往往喜欢深度远远甚于喜欢广度。

4)杰出成就 (A record of excellence)

   你可以通过在某一方面才华出众或与众不同来吸引录取委员会人员的眼球。你的贡献的重大程度往往是你是否被录取的决定因素之一。做到这一点方法包括赢得自然科学方面的成功,如发明专利、小小科学家称号、科技创新奖、Intel大赛奖、国际奥赛奖牌,也可以获得社会人文方面的成就,包括参加模拟联合国大赛、全球青年领袖峰会和扩大俱乐部的成员……

   通过专注于一个多元化但相互有关的一系列课外活动,你将展示几项对获得顶尖大学录取极有价值的重要特征。

课外活动可分为下面若干项:

  1. 体育运动。
  2. 学生会工作:各类学生活动的策划、组织和领导工作。
  3. 各式各样的课外活动俱乐部。
  4. 社会公益活动:例如红十字会、社会公益筹款或救助活动,贫困地区的支贫活动等等。
  5. 艺术表演活动:即音乐、戏剧、舞蹈等艺术活动。
  6. 校刊编辑:调查、采访、编写、绘画等等活动。
  7. 工作经历:带薪的工作, 不带薪的实习工作, 帮助父母家人的生意。
  8. 照顾弟妹等家务。