The Common College Application

Published on: 2010-12-06, latest updated on: 2012-10-31

There are two types of common college application forms in the United States: Common Application and Universal College Application

I. Common Application

Common application is a standardized application accepted by 488 universities and colleges. Membership is limited to those universities that not only review the applicant's school grades, test scores, teacher recommendations, and extracurricular activities, but also require students to provide at least one essay and one teacher recommendation. The benefit of common application is that it simplifies the college application process by requiring only one Common Application Form to be completed and sent to all the universities that a student likes.

The Common application's essay requirements have remained the same for several years, including a 250 word essay describing extracurricular activities and a 250-500 word personal statement on one topic chosen from the following subjects:

  1. A major personal experience, achievement, risk or ethical dilemma he has faced and its impact on him;
  2. An issue of personal, local, national, or international concern and its importance to him;
  3. An individual who has deeply impacted him and the reason;
  4. A fictional character, historical personage, or creative work that has profoundly influenced him and the reason;
  5. A personal experience that best illustrates the diversity he will bring to the university community;
  6. A topic of his choice.

Although the common application has reduced the number of application forms that need to be filled out and the number of essays required to be prepared, 2 / 3 of universities that use the common application still require students to submit additional information. Supplementary materials usually contain specific school-related questions and possible short-answers or essays. The Common application is free of charge. However, member institutions may charge an application fee. For details, please read each university's common application deadlines, application fees, tips and suggestions for filling in the common application form. For more information on common applications, please watch Common Application Video.

More and more schools now use the common application. As you can see, the following graph clearly shows the growth of common application members in recent years:

通用申请学校

Application for the school to join generic growth

As of October 2012, schools that use common application have reached 488, including 11 international schools from 5 countries. The number of students using common applications has seen a corresponding surge year after year, reaching to 345,000 by the fall semester of 2011. Compared with 2010, the number of applications increased by 21%. The number of students that use the common application in their college application has increased to 663,000 in 2011-2012. Compared with 2010-2011, the number of applicants increased by 21%. The number of applications in 2011-2012 is 2.78 mil, increased by 16% compared to 2010-2011. 91% of the students that use the common application are American students, while 9% are international students.

II. Universal College Application
The Universal College Application (UCA), launched in 2007, is a new mode of standardized college admission that is currently only accepted by 77 universities. The universal college application was designed by the Applications Online company to provide a more inclusive standardized college application process. Although the universal college application still adheres to the requirements, in that its members request students to provide a minimum of one essay and one teacher recommendation. It does not have the mandatory requirements that a Common application does. This opens a door for colleges and universities that do not require essays and recommendation letters to join in a standardized college application.

For more information about the schools that participate in the Universal College Application (UCA) as well as ED / EA / RA application deadline, application fees and required supplemental materials, please read Universal College Application Requirements.

III. Which Application Form Should Be Selected

Students can choose either Common Application or Universal College Application to submit their on-line application, but can't submit applications to the same school using both systems.

IV. Common Black College Application

The Common Black College Application is a service specifically for African-American students, and has no direct relevance to Chinese people. Hence, here we only give a brief introduction. Common Black College Application is funded by The EDU, Inc. The common black college application allows students to apply to 35 black colleges for a one-time payment of a $35 application fee. Opportunities through the online application give students a chance to receive admissions, financial aid and scholarships from different universities at one time, which can increase African-American students' educational choices. To date, more than 10 million students have used the service.

美国大学通用申请表格

原文发表日期: 2010年12月6日         最新更新: 2012年10月31日

在美国有两种大学共用的申请表格: 通用申请 common application 和 通用大学申请Universal College Application

一. 通用申请Common Application

通用申请是被488所大学和学院接受的标准化入学申请。会员资格仅限于不仅审查申请人的在校成绩、考试成绩、教师推荐信、和课外活动, 还至少要求学生提供一篇文章和一封老师推荐信来选择学生的学院和大学。 通用申请的好处是,简化了大学申请的程序,通过填写一份通用申请表把申请同时发送到所有学生喜欢的大学。

通用申请要求的作文已连续数年一直保持不便,包括一篇250字的短文描述你的课外活动,和500字的个人陈述,文章题目从以下几方面任选一项:

  1. A major personal experience, achievement, risk or ethical dilemma he has faced and its impact on him;
  2. An issue of personal, local, national, or international concern and its importance to him;
  3. An individual who has deeply impacted him and why;
  4. A fictional character, historical personage, or creative work that has profoundly influenced him and why;
  5. A personal experience that best illustrates the diversity he will bring to the university community;
  6. A topic of his choice.

虽然 通用申请减少了填写多个申请表和创作各种论文写作。但2/3用通用申请程序的大学仍然要求学生提交补充材料。补充材料通常含有与学校有关的具体问题和可能的简答题或短文。通用申请不收费,然而,成员机构可能要收申请费。欲了解 通用申请详情, 请阅读各大学通用申请的截止日期,申请费及填写通用申请表的注意事项。欲了解通用申请更多信息,请看通用申请录像

这几年越来越多的学校加入了通用申请的行列, 以下是这几年加入通用申请的学校增长情况:

通用申请学校

加入通用申请的学校增长情况

至2012年10月为止, 使用通用申请的学校数已达到488所,这其中也包括来自于除美国以外五个国家的11所国际学校。伴随而来的是使用通用申请程序申请的学生数逐年暴增。比如,申请2011年秋季入学的学生使用通用申请学生数为345000,比2010年使用通用申请的人数递增21%。2011-2012年一学年使用通用申请来申请的学生总数为663000,比2010-2011年使用通用申请的总人数递增了15%。2011-2012年一学年递出申请的学校总数为278万, 比2011-2012递增了16%。申请学生中91%为美国学生,9%为国际学生。

二. 通用大学申请Universal College Application
通用大学申请(UCA)是2007年刚启动, 目前仅被77所高校接受的一种新的标准化大学入学申请模式。通用大学申请是由Applications Online公司设计的,用以提供一个对大学更具包容性的标准化申请程序。虽然 通用大学申请坚持其成员至少要求学生提供一篇文章和一封老师推荐信,它并没有象通用申请那样强制要求大学一定有此要求。这就打开了那些不需要文章或教师推荐的高校参加标准化申请的大门。

关于通用大学申请(UCA)参加的学校,以及各大学通用大学申请的ED/EA/RA申请截止日期,申请费和要求补充材料等请见各大学通用大学申请要求

三. 两个申请表应选择哪个

学生可以选择Common Application 和Universal College Application这两个网上申请系统其中一个来递交申请, 但是不能同时在两个系统递交同一个学校。

四. 黑人学校共同申请Common Black College Application

这个是专门为黑人学生服务的,与中国人关系不大,我们在这只做个简单的常识性介绍。黑人学校共同申请是The EDU,Inc举办的。黑人学校共同申请允许学生一次性支付35美元申请费用,同时申请35所黑人院校。通过网上申请给学生机会接受来自不同大学的录取、财政援助、以及奖学金, 增加了黑人学生受教育的选择机会。迄今为止,已有10万学生使用黑人学校共同申请提供的服务。