College Admission Secrets Rarely Known in China

Published on: 2011-01-12, latest updated on: 2012-05-22

I. “Demonstrated Interest ” in the Application

NACAC's 2010 study of college admissions told us that most universities use”阐明的兴趣”(阐明的兴趣) as a factor in their admission decisions. So what can show a student's "demonstrated interest"Demonstrated Interest 的兴趣”is an applicant actively contacts the university, such as attending campus tours or to contacting the admission office to ask questions and so on. Why do admission officers care the demonstrated interest? Because giving acceptance to students who showed demonstrated interest can lead to higher enrollment rate, while high school enrollment will increase the university's ranking and visibility.

To show your interest in a university, you should be sure to do the following three things:1) Visit the campus ; 2) Use social media and e-mail to have a moderate amount of contact with the university; 3) Carefully write the essay "Why apply to our university."

II. Social Media(大众媒体)'s Role

You might not know more and more universities now review what students have published online. Hence, if they find a student shows a bad behavior, such as drug and alcohol abuse, or other things that the admissions officers believe may have a negative image on a student, it may affect the student's admission. Although the majority of the schools have not spent that much energy on checking social networking sites in the past, the number of schools doing checking is rising year by year. A clear trend has emerged within the last five years.

A recent survey shows that 38% of schools that use social media to research students' backgrounds said that visiting a student's blog usually result in a negative assessment on the student's admission, compared to only 25% of the respondents of university admission officers saying that the background investigation enhances their views on applicants. One admission officer even admitted that they rejected a student who wrote online that he was not interested in their university. Online background checks are not limited to admissions decisions. A report by he National Council for College Admission Counseling (NACAC) announced on April 29 stated that 26% of the universities use web background searches for special admission programs or scholarships.

Currently, the background investigation mainly focuses on the content on Facebook, and mainly focuses on the already admitted students. Therefore, students, who currently studying in the United States, should not put any thing that could have potential negative impact on their college admissions in their Facebook or other sites. So far, we have not heard of the background investigation in Chinese students in Chinese web sites. But it is worth noting that in China there are some sites require registered with real names, and admissions officers from some American colleges and universities who are responsible for admissions in China can read Chinese. Although you can delete speeches and pictures that are against you in your blogs, but what about if the article had been forwarded by others and no longer controlled by you? For example, in China there are many video segments of high school students passed over the network known as”XX door ”If the protagonist was a student who has been just accepted by a U.S. university, and that kind of the video went to admissions office, the student's admission decission would definitely be revoked.

Of course there are students who make good use of social media to get information about the schools, and acquire more useful information than that directly from the official university website or promotional materials.

III. Race (种族)

U.S. universities generally regard ethnic diversity campus as an important consideration. They think that students from different races can learn to understand different cultures, and that will play a positive role in the university. Therefore, many universities generally give preferential policies to minority students that have poor academic achievements, such as black and Latino students. Unfortunately, because Asian students generally study very hard, and a lot of Asian applicants have achieved excellent academic scores, although Asian-American students are minorities, to gain admission, Asian students will need to show a much stronger background in all aspects than other ethnic minorities.

IV. Gender

Many universities face a common situation: there are more females who meet the admission requirements than males. Schools, in order to maintain gender balance, have to cut some girls who qualify, with the result that in some schools admissions will be easier for boys than for girls. Here we refer to an quote from the admissions officer of Middlebury College:

Many schools are seeing a growing gender imbalance in their applicant pools, and this also is the case at Middlebury. We’re not at 60% females in the applicant pool yet, but we’re getting close. That can create a perception that we have to lower our standards for males in order to get a 50/50 class, but that is absolutely not the case at Middlebury – the males we admit and matriculate are every bit as strong as our females who are admitted and matriculate. But, we do have to turn away a greater number of highly qualified females than we do highly qualified males.*

V. Family Reasons (legacy )

Many elite universities give priority of admission to those students whose parent or sibling is a graduate of the university, which is commonly referred to as legacy. A familiar example is the relationship of George Bush's family (George H. W. Bush and George W. Bush, as well as the daughter) with Yale. We mentioned some time ago the example of when "John F. Kennedy was admitted to Harvard" for the same reason. A recent survey conducted by William Bowen of the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation showed that in schools that have a legacy policy, compared with those with no legacy, applicants whose parents or siblings were students of this school had a 19.7 percent higher acceptance rate * *. Another study by Thomas J Espenshade showed that legacy was equivalent to adding 160 out of 1600 points (Math and CR ) to the SAT test.***

6. Athletes
如果你能被大学教练看中,成为美国大学校运动队成员。 你在录取上得成功机率就大大增加。几所名校中,只有斯坦福大学没有降低运动员录取标准。有关各个学校在录取运动员中降低分数招收的详细信息可以阅读 Comparing the Acceptance Rates of Athletes to the General Public .

 

Reference:

*: Interview excerpts with Middlebury Dean of Admissions, Getting in edu

**: Richard D. Kahlenberg, 10 Myths about legacy preferences in college admissions, The Chronicle of Higher Education

***:Thomas J Espenshade, etl. Admission preferences for minority students,  athletes and legacies at elite universities, 2004

一些鲜为国人所知的美国大学申请秘诀

 最初发表日期: 2011年1月12日   最新更新: 2012年5月22日

一. “阐明的兴趣”在申请中的重要性

根据NACAC2010年全美高校招生研究报告显示大多数大学使用”阐明的兴趣”(demonstrated interest)作为他们的招生过程决定的因素之一。那么什么是表明的兴趣呢?”阐明的兴趣”是指申请人主动和大学联系,诸如参观校园或与招生办公室联系询问问题等。为什么招生人员要关心阐明的兴趣呢?因为有收录阐明的兴趣的学生可导致更高的入学率,而高的入学率则可提升该大学的排名和知名度。

如何才能显示对该大学的兴趣呢, 要做好以下三点: 1)参观该大学校园; 2)利用社会媒体和电子邮件与该大学适度联系; 3)认真写好“为什么申请我们大学”的文章。

二. 大众媒体(social media)的作用

大家也许不知道, 越来越多的大学开始审阅学生在网上发表的东西,如果发现学生有不良的行为,诸如吸毒酗酒等其他有可能让招生官产生负面影响的东西,也可能会影响到该学生录取。虽然目前多数学校并未花精力检查网络,但检查的学校数目一年比一年增加。这是最近五年出现的一个明显的趋势。

最近的一次调查显示百分之38%的利用social media调查学生背景的学校表示访问学生网页通常让他们对所招生的学生产生负面评估,相比只有25%受访大学招生官表示这些背景调查提升了他们对大部分申请人的看法。一位招生人员甚至承认他们曾因某学生在网上说对他们学校不感兴趣拒绝了这个学生。 网上背景调查不限于录取决定。根据4月29日公布的全国高校招生咨询会(NACAC)的报告显示有26%的高校使用网页搜索,审议候选人的特别录取方案或奖学金资格。

目前,这些背景调查主要还是集中在Facebook上的内容,而且主要是集中在对已录取的学生。因此目前在美就读的中学生,不要在Facebook上或其他网站上放任何对自己有负面影响的东西。我们还没有听说招生人员背景调查中国学生在中文网站的言行的。但是值得注意的是中国国内也有一些实名制的网站,并且一些美国学校负责中国区招生工作的招生人员懂中文。你虽然可以在招生时删掉对你不利的言论图片,但你发的东西一旦转发了就无法再由你控制了。比方说中国国内网络上流传过多段号称”XX门”的中学生视频,如果主角是被美国学校录取的学生,这样的视频转到招生官那,录取肯定是要被砍掉的。

当然也有学生充分利用social media等来了解学校信息,发现更多比官方大学网站或宣传材料有用的信息。

三. 种族(Race)

美国大学普遍都在招生中把保持录取学生种族的多样性放在一个重要的位置。他们认为不同种族的学生在一起,可以相互学习了解各自的文化,对学校的发展是起正面作用的。所以很多学校都对那些学业上普遍较差的少数民族学生诸如黑人学生,拉丁裔学生,  有优惠政策。因为亚裔学生通常学习很努力,申请者优秀的很多,很遗憾的是亚裔学生虽属于少数族裔,但亚裔学生和白人一样,只有在比其他少数族裔的学生各方面背景强得多的情况下才能被录取。

四. 性别

很多大学都普遍存在这样一个情况:符合学校录取要求的女生比男生多。学校为了保持性别比例的平衡,就会不得不据掉一些符合资格的女生,造成在某些学校男生比女生更易录取的事实。这里我们引用明德学院招生官的关于这个问题的回答:

Many schools are seeing a growing gender imbalance in their applicant pools, and this also is the case at Middlebury. We’re not at 60% females in the applicant pool yet, but we’re getting close. That can create a perception that we have to lower our standards for males in order to get a 50/50 class, but that is absolutely not the case at Middlebury – the males we admit and matriculate are every bit as strong as our females who are admitted and matriculate. But, we do have to turn away a greater number of highly qualified females than we do highly qualified males.*

五. 家庭原因(legacy)

美国有不少名校会对父母或兄弟姐妹是这个学校的毕业生的学生给予录取上的优先考虑, 这就是通常所说的legacy。一个大家都熟悉的例子就是老布什和小布什,还有小布什的一个女儿与耶鲁的渊源关系。我们前一段时间提到的约翰肯尼迪被哈佛录取的例子,也是同一个原因。根据the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation的William Bowen最近的一次调查,在采用legacy政策的学校,父母或兄弟姐妹曾是这个学校的学生的申请者,比具有相似背景但没有的legacy的申请者提高了19.7%的录取率**. Thomas J Espenshade的研究中则指出legacy相当于在满分1600(Math and CR)的SAT中增加160分.***

六运动员
如果你能被大学教练看中,成为美国大学校运动队成员。 你在录取上得成功机率就大大增加。几所名校中,只有斯坦福大学没有降低运动员录取标准。有关各个学校在录取运动员中降低分数招收的详细信息可以阅读 Comparing the Acceptance Rates of Athletes to the General Public 一文。

 

部分引用内容资料来源

*: Interview excerpts with Middlebury Dean of Admissions, Getting in edu

**: Richard D. Kahlenberg, 10 Myths about legacy preferences in college admissions, The Chronicle of Higher Education

***:Thomas J Espenshade, etl. Admission preferences for minority students,  athletes and legacies at elite universities, 2004