Academic Requirements For U.S. College Application

Posted on: 2010 -11-25

When evaluating a student's application materials, the admission committees often first look at the student's academic performance. If that student's academic performance meets the basic requirements, they'll evaluate the overall quality of that student. This is even truer at public universities, in order to save manpower on the admissions review committee. American universities usually evaluate a student's academic performance in three ways:

1.Grade Point Average ( GPA)

When applying to colleges, an applicant must provide high school transcripts and proof of current study status to the universities he is applying to. American High School has four-years of education (equivalent to China's middle school 3rd year to high school 3rd year). Maximum score is 4.0 points. High school GPA is usually calculated as the grade of each high school subject multiplied by the credit for that course, and then divided by the total credits. GPA has two types: weighted and unweighted. The maximum score of a course for an unweighted GPA is 4 points; for weighted GPA, the maximum score of a difficult course can be more than 4 points, 4.5 points or 5 points. For example, considering the difficulty of AP courses, a number of schools in the United States have set the maximum score for AP courses at 5. So for students in good academic standing, attending AP courses may increase their weighted four year high school GPA.

If the school you are studying at in China does not calculate grades, your school can still provide original copies and English translations of your transcripts starting from the middle school 3rd year, with the official seal of the school. When you are applying to a university, first mail the transcripts to the university before the deadline, then mail the mid-year report to the university while you are waiting for the admission results (mid-year report), you should send the final academic report as soon as you graduate (final report).

High school GPA is very important. Some universities even have a minimum GPA requirement. A low GPA will have a significantly negative impact on the application, especially if when the GPA trend goes downward. High school grading systems in most schools in China are quite strict. To eliminate this disadvantage, it is better to explain it, either on your transcripts or in the recommendation letters.

2.Class Ranking

Try your best to have your school provide the class ranking (including the total student number ) or the ranking percentage. The percentage has several levels: above 5%, 10%, 25%, 30%, 50% or more. The applicant's transcripts should indicate his/her level. If a student is ranked very high in an elite high school, it will give a comparative advantage to his application.

3. Course Difficulty

Course difficulty means the breadth and difficulty of courses a student takes in high school, such as a high school science curriculum, IB, AP and so on. Students in China cannot select courses, but many schools have fast classes, special classes, art and science classes. If you are studying in a special class, you should indicate it in your applications.

Many American secondary schools offer elective AP. Hence, AP (Advanced Placement) performance has become an important factor for the admission decision of an elite school. After finishing AP courses, students can sit for the AP exams held by the College Board. Also, AP courses and exams are supposed to be closely related to the majors a student will study in a university because AP test scores of 4 to 5 can offset college credits.

4. Can a Student Send Transcripts Along with His Other Application Materials?

Should the high school send the report cards or can the school put the transcripts in an official school envelope, seal them, stamp across the sealed area of the envelope, and let the student mail it with other application materials? For this question, a NACAC member recently conducted an unofficial internal inquiry with admission officers inside NACAC forum.

He wrote: according to the admissions officer's responses, it showed that more than 90% of universities accept transcripts inside a sealed envelope stamped by the high school and mailed together with other application materials by a student, but still about 10% of schools don't think so, and request transcripts to be mailed directly from the high school. Therefore, we recommend that before applying you'd better get clear answers from the schools you are applying to, especially from your top choice universities and colleges.

美国大学申请成绩要求

发表日期: 2010 年11 月25 日

在审核学生材料时,招生委员会通常先看学生的学术成绩,成绩过关了,才会看学生的综合素质。尤其是公立大学为了节省招生评审委员会人力,更是如此。美国大学通常从三个方面来评判学生的学术成绩:

1.平均成绩点数(GPA)

在申请学校时,申请者需向所申请大学提供高中的成绩单和在读证明。    美国高中是四年制(相当于中国大陆的初三至高三年级),学习成绩按照满分4.0折算。高中GPA通常算法是把高中各科成绩乘以学分,再以总学分除之。gpa有weighted和unweighted的区别,unweighted GPA是所有课程满分都是4分,weighted GPA是一部分较难课程满分不止4分,可以是4.5分也可以是5分。比如考虑到AP课程的难度,美国有一些学校把AP课程设为满分5分。因此对于成绩好的学生,就读AP课程也有可能提升高中四年的weightedGPA。

如果所就读的中国学校不提供学分证明,可以只提供学校出具的从初三开始的中英文原始成绩单, 加盖学校的公章即可。申请学校时,先把1月1日申请截止日期前的成绩寄往美国大学,等待申请结果过程中可把高三上的期末成绩(mid-year report)寄往美国大学,毕业时再往美国大学寄最后成绩(final report)。

高中成绩单上的GPA十分重要,美国大学都有最低GPA规定。GPA低分对申请带来的副面影响很大,尤其是当GPA呈下滑趋势时。中国大部分学校的评分都相当严,为了消除这种不利,可以在成绩单或是推荐信中说明。

2.年级排名

因此要尽力争取让学校提供在全年级所排的名次(包括总人数)或百分比。将百分比分为5%以上、10%以上、25%以上、30%以上、50%以上几个等级,注明申请人所居其中的哪种等级。如果学生年级排名很高,就读的又是名校, 在申请过程中就会有一定优势。

3. 课程难度

指在中学阶段所修课程的广度和难度,比如学的是普通高中课程,还是IB, AP等。中国大陆学生不能自主选课,但许多学校开设快慢班、特殊班和文理班。在申请时,若自己在特殊班学习, 应在申请材料中注明以突出自己的优势。

美国很多中学开设AP选修课, AP(Advanced Placement)成绩已成为美国名校录取学生的的一个重要参考指标。学生在学习AP课程后, 可参加美国大学理事会(The College Board)主持的AP考试,  AP考试涵盖的课程和在大学学习的专业息息相关,AP考试成绩达到4-5分还可以抵大学的学分。

4. 成绩单应该由学校寄还是可连同其它申请材料一起寄?

关于成绩单需要学校自己寄出还是可以把成绩单放在印有学校地址的学校官方信封内, 密封, 在信封外加盖公章后, 再由学生和其他申请材料一起寄出。对于这个问题, 最近有NACAC会员在NACAC内部对大学招生办的部分人员进行了一次非官方调查。

根据各校招生办人员回复统计显示,多于90%的大学接受在密封信封外加盖公章,由学生和其他申请材料一起寄出的做法,但仍有大约10%的学校不认为这样收到的成绩单有官方效力,而要求由学校直接寄成绩单。因此我们建议在递 出申请前最好直接写信去招生办问一下,尤其是对自己特别喜欢的几所学校,以保万无一失。