Should I find an agent or a consultant to help with my college application?

Posted on:2011-August 2

Before talking about this issue, we must first make clear one thing: a lot of agents in China also do consulting business, while a company advertises itself as a consulting company may also do agent business stealthily. Thus the "consultation" that we refer to here includes consulting service provided by the consulting firms specialized in consulting service, but also the agents' consulting business; the "agent" that we mention in this article refers to both the traditional agents, and those that call themselves consulting firms because they are not eligible for agent license in China, but in fact are also secretly doing business as agents. As to how to distinguish these two, please read another article on the Edugym website Consultants vs Agents.

When deciding whether you should seek help from a consultant or an agent, you can consider two things before making your decision:

First, make your decision based on what causes you to seek a paid service

Is it because your poor English gives you limited knowledge on the College Application process, and you only want to apply for a regular school, or is it because you want to try your best to get in a premier school?

If the reason is the former one, you should seek an agent. Because an agent will receive agent fees from its contracted school when they successfully help the school enroll a student, usually an agent will refund some fees if they can't help the student get into a school. But a consultant usually won't give such promise. However, if it is because you want to get in a very good school, you should seek a consulting firm since it is impossible for an agent to sign an agreement with a very good school, especially it is almost impossible when this premier school is in the United States.

One thing you must be clear is it will never happen because a student is recommended by an agent, his acceptance rate will be higher. An Agent often advocates itself having a "partnership" with universities, and students will have better chance to get in if they work with the agent. Nevertheless, 这完全是骗人的。说穿了这种合作关系就是大学花钱请中介作推广。这和卖主绝不会把卖房子的决定权交给房产中介一样,大学也不可能让关乎学校发展前途的学生录取与否的决定权受到中介的影响 。

Secondly, decide it according to how much you know the application procedure

The more you know about the college application, the more you are suitable for seeking for a consultant's help; while the less you know the application procedure, the more you are suitable to go for an agent.

Since in seeking help from an agent, only need you to look for a big company because the larger the agency is, the more the schools it can sign contracts with, hence, the more schools students can choose to apply to. Also large companies are more formal; besides, by China's law, a certified company is required to put 500 thousands yuan in the education department as a security deposit. When any dispute arises, the deposit can be used to pay the customer as compensation if the complaint can be verified. So even if you have a little knowledge about the US college application, as long as you find a certified large company to work for you, if you are not satisfied with them later, it will not reach the point of terribly messing things up.

Completely different from seeking help at agency, when seeking a consultant, you should judge the consultant's ability by yourself. Neither a method to effectivlly determine a consultant's skills exists in China, nor an effective mechanism is there to prevent and punish consultants who make up their background and qualifications. What's more, a consultant's level and ability is independent of the company size, and also has nothing to do with whether the company is certified or not. Hence , it can be only judged by your own eyes. Thus it requires you at least have a certain knowledge on the U.S. college application. The more you know about it, the easier you can judge a consultant's true level, and the less you will be cheated by an unethical consultant's rhetoric.

申请留学是找中介公司还是咨询公司?

发表日期:2011年8月2日 

在谈这个问题之前,首先要搞清楚的一点是中国国内不少中介公司也同时做咨询的业务, 个别标榜自己是咨询公司的可能也在偷偷地作中介业务。我们在这儿指的咨询,既包括专门做留学咨询的咨询公司,又包括中介公司里的咨询业务;我们在此文提到的中介,既指传统的中介公司,也指那些由于申请不到中介资质,挂着咨询公司牌子,其实暗地里做的是中介业务的公司。具体如何区分两者,请看edugym网站另一篇文章咨询和中介的区别。

那么申请留学是找中介公司还是咨询,  有两点考虑可以帮你做出决定:

第一要看是什么原因使你寻找付费服务

是因为自己英文不好,不知道一些基本的申请信息, 需要帮助申请一个一般的学校, 还是想尽全力申请一个很好学校?

是前者的话,可以找中介,因为中介介绍成一个学生会从这些签约学校拿到中介费,所以中介常常保证做不成的话,就退还一部分中介费用,而咨询公司通常没有这一保证。但如果是为了申请一个很好学校,  就一定要找咨询公司。因为中介很难和很好的学校签有协议,尤其是美国,这几乎是不可能的。

有一点一定要清楚的是绝不会因为某个学生是中介推荐的,他的录取率就会大。中介通常鼓吹自己和某某大学有”合作”关系,学生的的录取可能会提高, 这完全是骗人的。说穿了这种”合作”关系就是大学花钱请中介作推广。这和卖主绝不会把卖房子的决定权交给房产中介一样,大学也不可能让关乎学校发展前途的学生录取与否的决定权受到中介的影响 。

第二要看你对留学这一行的了解程度。

你对留学这一行了解的越多, 你越适合找咨询; 你对留学这一行越不了解,越应该找中介。

因为找中介只要找有中介资质的大公司就行。公司越大,与之签约的学校越多,学生选择申请学校余地就越大,同时大公司办事也比较正规一些; 另外有资质的公司在教育部门缴纳50万元保证金,出现投诉纠纷经查实后,可动用保证金进行赔偿。因此即使你对留学这一行不是很了解,只要你找有资质的大公司,即使有不满意,也不会到无法收拾的地步。

和找中介公司完全不同,  找咨询要看咨询顾问的水平,而目前在中国国内并没有一个有效的机制来判断一个咨询顾问的水平,  也没有一套有效机制来杜绝和惩治咨询顾问编造背景和资历。咨询顾问的水平和公司大小无关, 和公司是否具有中介资质更无关,  只有靠你自己的火眼金睛来判断。这就首先需要你自己对留学这一行有一定了解。你对留学这一行越了解,你越容易判断出一个留学顾问的真实水平,也越不容易被花言巧语和谎言蒙骗。