Agents vs Consultants

Posted on: 2011-July 30, Latest Updated on : 2011-Dec 17

Many people are confused between agents and consultants. In fact, you can clearly notice the difference as long as you pay attention to the following three points:

I. What is the role the firm plays in the service?

Same as an estate agent, an international agent must help students to be admitted by a school before collecting a commission fee. Its role is to connect schools and students together. Thus it acts as a role of marriage intermediary. A consulting firm is to provide students with college application advice and application assistance. If you believe that the consulting firm can help you package yourself better, you sign a contract with the firm. Its role is more like a designer or a guidance teacher. However, many agents in China also play a role as a consulting firm. That's why a lot of people are confused about the distinction between the agency and consulting firm.

Since the consulting firm is dedicated to provide consultation for students, someone might ask whether there are companies dedicated to providing consultation for the schools. The answer is yes. For examples, some companies specifically help U.S. schools, such as tell schools how to deal with agents in China, how to contact China's secondary schools, and how Chinese students cheat in the applications and so on.

II. How the application materials are delivered and how the application results are received

The easiest way to distinguish an agent with a consultant is to see whether the application materials are sent by the agent or the students themselves. For the agency, the application materials are sent by the agent, and results of the application are mailed to the e-mail address or mailing address of the agent; for the consultant, the application materials are sent by the students themselves, and the application results are mailed to the student's Email address or mailing address.

To attract customers, some companies in China charge fees according to the admitted schools' US News rankings. In order to know which schools students have been accepted, these companies use their own address to send the application materials and receive the admission notice. Thus, the above method that can be easily used in other countries to distinguish agents and consultants may not be applicable in China.

III. How the service fee is paid

During the operation, the fundamental difference between the two is: Chinese government requests the agent's contract must ensure that students get admitted by a school and receive a visa application, otherwise it must refund all or part of the agent fee to the students, schools also have a rule only when a student pay the tuition and fees, they will pay the agent the commission fee. But if a consultant openly declares that the consulting firm will refund its fee if it can't get any acceptance for the student, the consulting firm improperly boast its ability, and the NACAC constitution clearly states that the NACAC member cannot do so. Otherwise, the consulting firm or consultant will be removed from NACAC; it's the same if a student is admitted by a school, the school will not give the consulting firm one penny. Because the former is a marriage matchmaker. He'll receive money when the marriage is done, he'll receive nothing when it fails; while the latter only represents the interests of students, and has no relationship to the school.

At present, China agents collect fees from both sides, i.e., the agent work on behalf of schools, but also the applicants. But in Japan, Korea and many other countries, it has long been one-way fee collection, that is, only the university pays agents, agents do not charge students. There was a lengthy report on the New York Times, which criticized harshly the China agency's charges because it does not meet the industry's ethic code in the United States.

中介和留学咨询公司的区别

发表于: 2011年7月30日,  最新更新2011年12月17日

很多人都搞不清楚中介和留学咨询公司的区别, 其实只要抓住以下三点,就能清楚地搞懂两者的不同。

一. 扮演的服务角色

留学中介公司就如房产中介一样,一定要申请到学校才收钱,它只是负责把学校和学生联系在一起,它扮得是媒人的角色;而咨询公司是帮学生出注意提供建议,你相信咨询公司帮你包装一下形象会更好,你就和咨询公司签约。它扮演的角色更象形象设计或者老师的辅导。 由于国内很多中介公司同时也扮演了咨询公司的角色,这就造成很多人混淆了中介公司咨询公司这两者之间的区别。

也许有人会问, 既然咨询公司是专门给学生作咨询的,是否也有公司专门给学校咨询的呢?答案是肯定的。美国也有公司专门帮学校的,比如告诉学校如何和中国的留学中介公司打交道,如何和中国的中学联系, 中国的学生又是如何在申请中作弊等等。

二. 申请材料递送和申请结果信息获得

区分一个公司是中介的性质还是咨询的性质,最简单的办法只要看申请材料是由它寄还是由学生自己寄。中介公司 申请材料由中介寄, 申请结果是学校邮寄到中介的邮箱或地址; 咨询机构申请材料由学生自己寄, 申请结果是邮寄到学生的邮箱或地址。

中国国内某些公司为了吸引顾客,采用根据申请到的学校排名来收费的方式。为了能了解学生申请到的学校情况,这些公司用公司地址同时寄出和收取录取通知,这使得这一点在其它国家可以用于轻松区别中介和咨询的方法在中国不一定适用。

三. 在何种服务结果下需付费

在具体操作过程中, 两者的一个根本性的不同: 中国政府规定留学中介合同必须保证学生申请到学校并获得签证, 否则就必须全部或部分退款, 而美国的学校也规定只有这个学生交了学费后, 才付中介费给留学中介公司。但是, 留学咨询公司如果公然宣称申请不到学校就退款,就是对其咨询能力的夸大宣传, NACAC 章程就明确规定不能这么做,否则该咨询公司或咨询顾问就会被NACAC除名; 同样学生被某个学校录取,该学校也不会给留学咨询公司一分钱。因为前者是媒人,媒做成了就收钱,做不成就不收;而后者是代表学生的利益的,和学校是没有关系的。

目前中国的中介是双向收费模式,也即中介既代表学校,又代表申请人。 而在日本,韩国等其它很多国家,早就实行单向收费, 即只有大学付费给中介,中介不向学生收费。纽约时报曾经有长篇报道, 批评中国中介的这种双向收费不符合行业道德规范。