Independent College Consultants in the U.S.

Posted on: 2011-08-02 , The latest updated on:2012-01-08

In the U.S., almost every high school has a college counselor(Chinese translation:大学升学顾问), whose job is to provide assistance to high school students in college applications. Because the vast majority of schools are in short supply of college counselors, many wealthy families seek the help of outside independent consultants for their high school children.

Independent college consultants provide fee-based advisory services for students and parents. In general, they mainly serve U.S. high school students, including families who want their children to study in a good private high school. In addition they are alsoin demand for students who apply to medical schools, law schools and business schools. Regardless of how well-known these consulting firms are, the companies are always very small. In the United States, you can not find even one chain of college consulting firm that exists as they do all over China. Also very few consulting firms advertise as heavily as Chinese agencies usually do. Hence,, what U.S. consulting firms usually do is to accumulate their customers over time by word of mouth. This means that independent college counselors' consulting fees vary widely depending on the consultants' qualifications, background and length of service, ranging from a few hundred dollars to 40-50 thousands dollars per package.

Independent college consultants in the U.S., whether they are famous or not, often do everything themselves to ensure the highest quality. Hence, a consultant can usually only service about 30 cases a year. Therefore, the consulting fee of a senior independent consultant is very expensive. For example, a company called Ivy Success has a $30,000 price tag. On July 18, 2009, aNew York Times report on American independent college consultants stated that IVY Wise's consultant, Catherine ·Cohen's service price was $40,000. Although, like university admissions, her fee is high, her "admissions" places are filled quickly early each year. However, this high price raises concerns regarding whether charging students such high fees is ethically right or not.

Many people think that only families with a relatively low level of education will seek help from independent college counselors. In fact, families that hire independent consultants are mostly well-educated middle and upper class families, because only they can afford the expensive consulting fees. This is because Harvard, Yale, Princeton and other elite universities have more and more competition, and college admissions have become increasing complicated, hence it is not true that a person who has received a good education in the United States can be certain to make their child's application perfect.

In order to allow children to find their wat into the elite schools, American upper middle class families, starting from grade 7 or 8 or even earlier, seek to hire an independent consultant for college planning. The consultant designs a plan based on the student's characteristics, recommends elective courses to the student, makes suggestions for extracurricular activities, provides a list of volunteer activities and gives advice on how to participate in competitions to develop social experience and leadership. In addition, the consultant also helps students to edit college essays, guides them on how tofill out the application forms and Resumes, and advises them on how to get strong recommendation lettersfrom teachers. By all of these efforts , they hope to achieve a perfect level in the completion of application materials.

On the issue of whether the use of independent consultants is really effective in helping students to increase their chances of being admitted by a university, for reasons easy to understand, U.S. universities deny that it gives students a measurable advantage, because they do not want student application materials to be packaged by experienced consultants. Nevertheless, the 2011 university and college survey reported by Insiderhighered showed that 22.4% of university admissions officers do indeed think that the use of independent consultants can be very effective in helping students to increase their opportunities for university admission.

In China, college consultant firms are in their infancy stage. The industry itself is still completely unregulated. There is a large quality gap between consulting firms in China and the independent consultants in the United States. Except for a small number of parents who can correctly see the value a good college consultant can provide, this career is under-perceived by Chinese public. However, with information gradually flowing in, sooner or later it will be clear what a real role a professional consultant can play.

 

*: The 2011 Insiderhighered survey of college and university admissions

美国的独立升学顾问

发表日期: 2011年8月2日  最新更新:2012年1月8日

在美国,几乎每一所高中都有专职的大学升学顾问(College Counselor),他们的工作就是为高中生提供升学咨询辅导。因为绝大多数学校的高中升学顾问都供不应求, 所以许多富裕的高中生家庭都到校外寻求独立升学顾问的帮助。

独立升学咨询顾问专门为学生和家长提供收费的升学咨询服务, 服务对象主要是美国的高中生, 还包括想读私立名校高中的初中生家庭。除此之外,也有部分医学院,法学院和商学院硕士申请的服务需求。通常这些咨询公司无论知名度如何,公司都很小。在美国, 找不到一家象中国那样的连锁咨询公司。也几乎很少有升学咨询公司象中国那样排山倒海地打广告, 都是随着时间推移靠口碑逐步积累客户。这就使得根据资历、背景、 业务积累时间长短的不同,独立升学顾问的收费在美国差别很大,从几百美金到4-5万美金不等。

美国的独立升学顾问为了保证质量常大大小小之事, 事必躬亲。 这样, 一个顾问一年通常最多只能服务30个左右的案例。因此资深独立咨询顾问的收费相当昂贵。比如一家名为Ivy Success 的大学升学顾问公司的标价为30000美元。早在2009年7月18日纽约时报里就有一篇关于美国独立升学顾问的报道,文中提到IVYWise升学顾问凯瑟琳·科恩Katherine Cohen的服务标价为4万美金。她的收费虽然高昂,但也像大学招生一样,她整年的“招生”名额每年都早早地爆满。

许多人认为只有出身于教育水平比较低的家庭的学生才需要独立升学顾问的帮助。实际上,请独立升学顾问的家庭大多是那些受过良好教育的中上阶层家庭,因为只有他们才负担得起昂贵的咨询费用。这是因为哈佛大学、耶鲁大学、普林斯顿大学等名校竞争越演越激烈,大学录取也越来越复杂, 并非是谁曾经受过美国良好的高等教育, 就能帮助自己孩子把申请弄得完美无缺。

美国中上阶层家庭为了能让子女挤入名校,从7年级或8年级起,甚至更早, 就开始聘请独立升学顾问作规划。升学顾问根据每个学生的特点给学生选课建议,拟定参加课外活动、义工活动的清单, 制定参加比赛计划,以获取社会实践经验和领导才能。此外,升学顾问还帮助学生修改大学申请文书、指导申请表的填写简历的制作,并为如何获得强有力的推荐信出谋划策, 把整套申请材料做到完美无缺的程度。

关于使用独立咨询顾问是否真的能有效帮助学生增加大学的录取机会, 众所周知的原因,美国大学自然持有反对态度,因为他们不希望拿到他们手上的学生材料已被有经验的咨询顾问包装过。尽管如此,2011年末的大学调查报告*仍显示有22.4% 大学招生官认为使用独立咨询顾问会非常有效地帮助该学生增加大学的录取机会。

在中国国内, 留学咨询公司还处于发展初期,行业本身尚很不规范 且和美国的独立升学顾问之间还有很大差距。除了少数父母能正确看待留学咨询所能提供的价值外, 这个职业还不被大众所认知。 但随着相关信息的逐渐流入,人们对于专业咨询顾问所扮演的真正角色也会越来越清楚。

 

*: Insiderhighered 2011年大学调查报告