Apply for a passport and a U.S. student visa

Posted on: December 1, 2010

I. Apply for a Passport

Please refer to the People's Republic of China Passport and Exit Permission Issued by General of Administration (Ministry of Public Order No. 96) for the passport application.

II. Apply for a Student Visa

The following procedure is for student visa application :

(I). Pay for the student visa application fee

Pay the U.S. non-immigrant visa application fee to the U.S. Embassy through any branch of China CITIC Bank. The applicant is required to pay the visa application fee $140 , and show passport and identity cards to the agent. After payment, you will receive a joint visa fee receipt valid for one year. If you do not submit a visa application within the validity period stipulated in the receipt, the receipt will be void, and the application fee is non-refundable. *

(II). Make an appointment for a student visa interview

Log in to your accountVisa Information Call Center, and buy a phone call password. You can purchase the prepaid password card at CITIC Bank where you pay the visa application fee. 12 minutes costs 54 yuan, or 8 minutes for 36 yuan. Then call the Visa Information Call Center, and make an appointment for a visa interview (they speak Chinese). You should prepare the following information before the call: the visa fee receipt number, passport number, ID number, contact information, the purpose of visit, permanent residential address in China. Visa Information Call Center Phone Number: 4008-872-333, working hours: Monday to Friday 7:00 to 19:00, Saturday 8:00 ~ 17:00, except holidays.

If it is less than three months from the school year starting date, you can submit an application for an expedited appointment by e-mail . To see the procedure for an expedited interview appointment, please click this page.

(III). Prepare photos for student visa application 

Prepare several 2 inch x2 inch (5cmx5cm) white background color photos. Also, when applying for a visa, be sure to prepare an electronic format of the visa application photo

(IV). Fill out the visa application form

Form DS160 can be filled out online. When filling out the form, save a backup often because the system will automatically exit after 20 minutes of inactivity. After submitting the form, a confirmation page will be generated to form a bar code page. Bring this page to the consulate for the visa application. Please remember photos for the visa application must be in an electronic format.

(V).Visa interview

You must answer the following questions in your student visa interview: 1. whether you have sufficient financial resources to support your studies in the United States; 2. whether the school admission is legitimate; III. whether you will leave the U.S. after graduation; 4. your English communication ability.

Takeall documents required for visa application to the Consulate general for a visa interview. During the conversation with the consulate, you should promptly show your relevant evidence. Do not wait until he/she requests it.

The best way to succeed in the visa interview is well prepared. Prepare the following questions before the interview:

  • Why do you want to study in America?
  • Why did you choose this university?
  • Why did you choose this profession?
  • How will you pay for college tuition and living expenses in the United States?
  • What's your career plan?
  • What's your back home plan?
  • Will the major you'll learn in the U.S. have good career potential after you return to your home country?

Clearly explain your future career plans, don't give the consulate the impression that you will stay in the United States. Remember U.S. law is to assume that your purpose of entering USA is to get permanent immigration status, and a consulate's job is to find a reason to refuse your visa. Your job is to prove that this is wrong.

(6).Work on the Visa/passport return procedure in China Post

Approved non-immigrant visa applicants must either go immediately to the designated post office for your passport's express mailing service, or pick up your passport and visa at the postal office near the Chinese Embassy two or three days after the interview.

III. Student Visa Forums

Visashare

Water & Wood Community- Visa Application Forum

Drinking Water Appreciate Spring- visa application forum

Notes:

*: CITIC Bank official website

申请护照和留学签证

发布于:2010年12月1日

一.申请护照

请参造中华人民共和国普通护照和出入境通行证签发管理办法(公安部令第96号)办理。

二.申请留学签证

留学签证申请的步骤如下:

(一).支付留学签证申请费

通过中信银行在中国的任何分行向美国驻华使领馆缴纳赴美非移民签证申请费。签证申请费140美元,  购买时需出示申请人有效期内护照和代办人身份证。缴费后将得到有效期为一年的两联签证费收据。如未能在收据规定的有效期内递交签证申请,签证费收据将作废,申请费概不退还。*

(二). 预约留学签证面谈

登录签证信息话务中心, 购买通话密码。你也可去能交纳赴美签证申请费的中信银行购买密码预付卡。费用为12分钟54元人民币或8分钟36元人民币。然后致电签证信息话务中心, 预约签证面谈时间(中文)。在致电前,将下列信息准备齐全:签证费收据号码、护照号码、身份证号码、联系方式、访美目的、在华常住地。 签证信息话务中心电话号码: 4008-872-333, 工作时间:周一至周五7∶00~19∶00,周六8∶00~17∶00, 节假日除外。

     如果预约时间距开学日期不够三个月,您可发通过电子邮件递交加急面谈申请。有关加急面谈预约程序请点击此页面

(三). 准备留学签证申请的照片 

     准备2英寸x2英寸(5cmx5cm)白色背景的彩色正面照一张,  申请签证时要注意签证申请的照片要提交电子版。

(四). 填 签证申请表

DS160表格将在网上填写和提交。在填写表格过程中,要及时做好保存。如超过20分钟没有操作,系统将自动退出。表格提交后将生成确认页面,形成条形码页面。携带此页面前往领事馆申请签证。申请签证时要注意签证申请的照片要提交电子版。

(五).留学签证面谈

留学签证面试必须回答下列问题:一. 你是否有足够的财力支持你在美国的学习;二. 学校录取是否是合法的; 三. 你是否会在大学毕业后离开美国; 四.你的英语交流能力如何。

携带申请签证所需的所有文件去移民局面谈。申请者在与签证官交谈过程中,要适时出示相应证明材料,不要等到签证官质疑询问后才有所反应。

在留学签证面谈中获得成功最好的办法是充分的准备。准备以下一些问题:

  • 你为什么要到美国学习?
  • 你为什么选择这个大学?
  • 你为什么选择这个专业?
  • 你将如何支付在美国的大学学费和生活费?
  • 你的事业计划是什么?
  • 你的回国计划是什么?
  • 你去美国所学专业将来回国后是否有发展潜力?

要清楚阐述自己未来的发展规划,而不要让签证官认为你会移民留在美国。记得美国法律就是假定你到美国是为了永久移民,领事官员的工作就是要找理由拒绝你的签证。你的工作是要证明这是不对的。

(六).通过中国邮政办理签证/护照返还手续

获得批准的非移民签证申请人须在面谈后马上前往指定的邮局办理签证护照快递退还手续。或者在面谈之日后的2-3个工作日到使馆附近的中国邮政自取签证。

三. 留学签证论坛

Visashare 

水木社区签证版

饮水思源签证版

备注:

*: 中信银行官方网站