Prepare for Departure

 IBook an Apartment

If your university provides accommodation, and you have no acquaintance there, it is best that you live in the school dormitory. School dormitories tend to be in short supply. Hence, to successfully get the desired accommodation, you should get clear about the dormitory type, rent, whether men and women are living in the same building, etc, and also send the application to the school accommodation office(Housing Office) as soon as possible, accompanied by the application fee or deposit before the deadline.

If the university does not have dormitories, you need to seek off-campus accommodation. You might first spend a few days in a hotel. In case you have to live in a hotel for a long period of time, you can talk to the hotel officer to see whether the hotel is willing to negotiate a reduced rate. If you are not clear about the safety and traffic conditions, you should try your best to find an apartment near the school. When renting off-campus housing, you must take into account the following things: house type, rent, security, whether it has convenient transportation to the school,whether it is furnished or not, whether the water, electricity, telephone service charges are included in the rent or not, and whether the building allows pets or not. Before signing the contract, you should always read it carefully.

 II. Exchanging Renmingbi to dollars and carrying money abroad

Go to the bank to exchange Renmingbi to dollars. Please carry all documents with you. The documents you should bring to the bank for the first year study include: private passport, valid visa, the official admission notice, billing statement, ID card or household registration book. From the second school year on, the materials you need to bring include: a copy of your passport with a valid visa, the current school year fee notice or proof of payment for the last year or the last semester, a letter assigning another person to exchange the money for you, your student card, proof of study, the agent ID card or household registration book. More information can be obtained on CITIC Bank website. For online inquiries regarding the dollar and the RMB exchange rate, please click here.

Funds can be brought to USA in a variety of ways.

III.Make a Flight Reservation and Prepare Your Luggage

When making a flight reservation, you must understand that you can enter the U.S. only 30 days before the school registration days written on the I-20. If your flight reservation requires you to transfer to another flight, you must set aside enough time between the flights. If you need to leave and enter the customs, you should also be clear whether the luggage is “checked through” or if it will need to be re-checked before you enter customs. If so, be sure to leave enough time for the luggage retrieval and security screening.

We suggest you arrive at least 3-5 days in advance of the school registration days in order to become familiar with the surrounding environment and adjust your jet lag to give yourself a good start to your college life. Most universities will arrange for officers to meet students who are to live in dormitories at the designated airport.

Different airlines have different baggage requirements. Before going to the United States, ask the airline in advance about the permitted baggage weight and size. If you wish, you could also look at the list of things for studying abroad to get an idea of what you need to bring to the U.S. 

Buy a small suitcase or a large travel bag as carry-on baggage. You'll use a small trolley often when you travel later. Hence, you'd better buy a beautiful small suitcase of good quality, and be sure its three dimension together add up to no more than 115cm.

Buy a large suitcase for checked luggage. The sum of the length of the three sides must not exceed 158cm. As checked luggage, you will be moving it less often. Usually you won’t use it again until you return to China, thus a case of ordinary quality should be OK. You should buy canvas, because its shipping weight is less, and also it's not easy to be broken during handling. You should use a special custom lock for your checked luggage. If you do not want to spend money on a custom lock, don't lock the luggage with a password, or if you do, write your password down near the luggage lock for the customs officer to inspect your luggage. Otherwise, your lock may be broken by the customs officer when they inspect your luggage. Put a label on each piece of checked luggage, writing down clearly your full name, flight number, departure location, destination address and telephone number.

In case your luggage is lost, do not panic. You should immediately contact the airline at the airport to fill out a lost luggage form( lost baggage claim form). Each airline has its own compensation rules for lost luggage. You should ask about them and make sure you understand the entire process clearly. Also, remember to make a note of the airline enquiry number, in case you need it for future enquiries.

IV. Work on Your Health Issues

1.Check your vision, get a new pair of glasses if needed

2.Check your teeth, repair any bad teeth, fix broken crowns, etc.

3.Learn some basic medical knowledge. Please read See a doctor in the United States, which will help you understand why you should do so.

 V. Entering USA customs

Before entering U.S. customs, you are required to fill out an I-94 and customs declaration card, and so on. If the value entered on the custom declaration form is more than eight hundred U.S. dollars, you are required to pay tax. When entering the customs area, wait in your visa line (Non-immigrant visa holders should wait in the nonresident line).

When it’s your turn, give your passport, I-20 or IAP-66, I-94 and the declaration form to the officer for inspection. The custom officer may ask you some questions, such as your purpose for entering the United States and your final destination. After that your fingerprints and take photograph will be taken.

The U.S. Custom officer will stamp your I-20 or IAP-66 and I-94 card, and staple your I-94 entry card to your passport. The officer will then give you your I-94, and the third page of your I-20 or IAP-66. Please keep them in a safe place.

VI. Call Home

Please call your family in China as soon as you arrive at your destination, and let your anxious parents receive the news of your safe arrival.

1. Buy phone cards online

2. Make domestic phone calls or video calls through gmail

3. Make domestic calls using Skype

4. Use QQ to talk

来美国读大学前应做准备

 、预定住宿

如果学校提供住宿,你又没有熟人在当地,最好选择住学校宿舍。学校宿舍一般比较紧张, 需尽早弄清楚学校宿舍种类、租金、是否男女同楼等, 并尽早向学校住宿办公室(Housing Office)提出申请,并在申请截止日期前一并附上应缴的申请费或保证金,如此才能顺利申请到合意的宿舍。 

如果学校没有宿舍,需寻求校外住宿。建议先短暂住几天旅馆。如果你将不得不在旅馆内住相当长的一段时间,你可以和旅馆谈一谈看看是否能让它降价。如果对当地的治安情况以及交通状况不清楚的话,建议尽量在学校附近找。校外租屋必需考虑的因素:房子种类租金, 治安良好与否,是否有便捷的交通工具到达学校,是否附家俱, 水电煤电话是否包含在租金内, 是否禁养宠物。合约签定以前,详细阅读每一条款, 再行签约。 

 、换汇和携带留学资金

去银行换汇,材料一定要带齐全。第一学年要带材料包括: 因私护照、有效签证、正式录取通知书、收费通知书、身份证或户口簿。第二学年或学期以后需带的材料包括:因私护照及有效签证复印件、本年度收费通知、上一学年或学期的缴费证明、本人委托书、学生证等在读证明、代办人身份证或户口簿。详情请见中信银行网站。网上查询美元和人民币汇率请点击此处。 

换好的留学资金可通过多种途径携带到美国。 

三、机票预订和行李准备

订机票时一定要注意只能在I-20上写的开学时间的前30天内入境。如果飞机需要转机,订机票时,  两趟班机间一定要留出足够时间。如果转机时还需要同时进出海关,要问清楚行李是否转机时需取出后再存入。如是两趟班机间一定要留出取行李和行李安检时间。

建议提前3-5天到就读所在地,以便先熟悉一下周边环境,调整时差,做好开学准备。如果学生将住在学校宿舍,大多数学校都会安排有关人员到指定机场接机。 

不同的航空公司对行李有不同要求。去美国前,要事先问好所坐航班的航空公司有关行李重量的规定, 以免罚款。建议根据此清单购买需要准备的物品 

购买小型拉杆箱或大旅行背包作为随身行李。小型拉杆箱因为以后外出时会经常用到, 质量一定要好,还要美观, 三边之和不超过115cm。 

购买大型的行李拉箱作为用于托运的行李箱。行李箱三边之和须不超过158cm。作为托运的行李箱, 因为平时很少会用,只有回国时才用到, 质量一般即可。一定要买帆布的, 托运重量轻, 也不易被航空公司搬运人员摔坏。行李用的锁要买海关锁,如果你不想花钱买海关锁的话,箱子也可以不上密码锁,或把密码写在密码锁旁边,以供海关开箱检查用。否则,如果运气不好的话,碰到海关在行李转运中抽查你的箱子,你箱子的密码锁可能会被海关撬了。在托运的每件行李上加上标签,写清楚姓名拼音、航班号、起始地点、目的地、目的地联系地址和电话等信息。 

如果行李遗失, 不要慌张。你要立即与机场航空公司柜台联系,并填报行李遗失单( Baggage-lost claim form)。关于行李丢失各航空公司都有自己的赔偿措施。你要问清楚整个流程, 并记下航空公司的查询电话, 以备日后查询。 

四、医药保健

1.验光,配备用眼镜 

2.检查牙齿,补牙, 装牙套等。 

3.了解点医药常识。查看留学生在美看病需知, 了解原因。 

 、入境

入境前如实填写I-94入境卡和海关申报单等。海关申报单上所填的价值超过八百美金时需交税。入境时, 按照入境签证的不同排队等候检查(持非移民签证者应排在nonresident的队伍)。 

轮到你时,将护照,I-20或IAP-66, I-94及报关单一并交给海关人员查验。海关人员可能会问你一些问题,诸如你进入美国的目的以及你的最后目的地。然后你会被要求扫描指纹和拍照。 

美国海关人员会在I-20或IAP-66,I-94上签章, 将I-94入境卡订在护照内,并将I-94入境卡, I-20或IAP-66的第三页一并交还给你请妥善保存。 

六、打电话回国

请一到美国后就给国内的家人打电话, 让国内焦急的父母收到你平安到达的消息。

1. 在网上购买电话卡

2. 用gmail拨打国内电话或视频

3. 用skype与国内电话或视频

4. 用QQ与国内电话或视频