How to Carry Money Abroad

Posted on:Dec 2, 2011

I. Cash:

According to China's regulations, to carry foreign currency $ 5,000 or less abroad you don't need to apply for a foreign currency carry permit. To carry $ 5,000 to $ 10,000 (including $5000 and $10000), you need to go to the foreign exchange bureau for a foreign currency carry permit, the customs will release the permit for you. To carry out more than $ 10,000, you need to carry a permit issued by the province's foreign currency exchange bureau.

II. Traveler's checks:

Traveler's checks are fixed denomination notes issued by a financial institution to facilitate travelers paying travel expenses during an international travel. The denominations of U.S. travel checks are $20, $50, $100, $500 and $1000. The fee of exchanging traveler's checks into cash is generally 3%. Otherwise, it has to do bank collection, and the wait time is generally at least 15 days.

III.Ticket exchange:

Ticket exchange is a foreign money transfer ticket issued by a bank using a person's bank account as the paying bank and making payment to the payee bank. The sender bring the ticket by himself to the receiving bank to receive payment. Ticket transfer fee is only one-thousandth of the amount of money, and it also has a fee limit. But the money takes a long time to credit into the payee's account. You can consider using a foreign bank in China to shorten the time.

IV. Wire Transfer:

Banks send foreign remittance to your designated beneficiary's bank account. For the wire transfer fee, except the same one-thousandth of the fee as charged in the ticket transfer(also having upper and lower limits), there is telecommunication charge, which is used for making a transfer. Wire transfer must have a payee account. The students who go to the United States must first wait until after opening a local bank account before their parents can wire transfer the money to his/her account.

V. Immediate Money Transfer:

Using Western Union or MoneyGram. The advantage of the Immediate transfer is faster, but its fee is higher than wire transfer.

6, Credit card:

The fee to get cash is high, and credit card spending is limited.

如何携带留学资金出国

发布于:2010 年12月2日

一、现金:

      根据规定,携带5000美元及以下外币出境,无须办理外币携带证。携带5000美元以上10000美元以下(含),需去外汇局指定的银行办理外币携带证,海关凭此证予以放行。携带10000美元以上出关的话,需有所在省市外汇局出具外币携带证方可出境。

二、旅行支票

     旅行支票是金融机构为方便旅行者在国际旅行期间支付旅行费用而发行的一种固定面额票据。美元支票的面额 有$20、$50、$100、$500和$1000。旅行支票兑换现金时的手续费一般是3%,否则,就要办理银行托收,时间一般至少15天。

三、票汇:

      票汇是由银行签发的以银行账户行为付款行,以收款人为抬头人的外汇银行汇票。由汇款人自行携带,凭票到汇入行领取款项。票汇手续费仅为汇款金额的千分之一,而且是有上限的。但到账时间较长。可考虑直接使用外资银行汇票缩短到账时间。

四、电汇:

     银行将外汇款汇到客户指定的收款人所在银行账户。电汇手续费高,除票汇收取的千分之一手续费(同样有上下限)之外,还要收取电讯费, 转汇费。电汇必须要有收款人账户。初次去美国的同学只能等在当地银行开户之后,才能让家人把钱电汇过来。

五、即时汇款:

      西联汇款和速汇金。即时汇款的优势是速度快, 但其手续费高于电汇。

 信用卡

      取现金手续费很高,刷卡消费有限制。