TOEFL

Posted on: November 29, 2010, Updated on:November 17, 2012

TOEFL iBT

The maximum score on the TOEFL iBT is 120 points, 30 points for each section , including reading, listening, speaking, and writing. The TOEFL test is delivered via internet. The examination is about four hours long. Candidates can take notes during the exam, and the difficulty of a question has nothing to do with the accuracy of answering the previous questions.

The reading section has three articles, totally 34-56 questions, lasting 60-80 minutes, It examines a candidate's analytical ability and comprehension of the articles. The listening section has 60-90 minutes, and 34-51 questions, consisting of two lectures and four paragraphs of dialogue. The speaking section lasts 20 minutes,contains six questions, including two independent questions; two questions requiring candidates to read and answer questions based on listening materials; two questions that are based on the content relating to listening materials.The writing section lasts 50 minutes, includes independent writing and writing after reading and listening. Independent writing requires a candidate to state his views on a particular issue based on his own knowledge and experience; in the writing after reading and listening section, a test taker reads an article, the candidate then listens to a lecture, and then the candidate summarizes the main points of the listening material and explains how the elements are different from the reading materials. Some questions in Listening and reading sections are counted as testing questions. Those questions are used for ETS to gather information whether new questions they designed are approriate and can be used in future tests.

Now, colleges and universities put more and more emphasis on each independent score of the listening, reading, writing and speaking sections.

TOEFL iBT Test in China:

1. Application procedure: Log in to your accountNEEA TOEFL iBT online registration. Click on the upper right corner”Know the candidates“to get the knowledge of TOEFL test registration information. Then on the upper right corner of the site click ”Test site search“, after finishing all of the above, click on the left column of the”Register now“, and register a NEEA User ID. Log in to your NEEA account, go to "My Home" to register for the test, change the registration information or send payment. Candidates can change the test center or test date up until ten days before the test date (not including the test day and the application day), but have to pay a change fee, and can only do it under the condition that the test center transferred to has an empty spot on that test date.

2. Receiving test scores: Fifteen working days after the TOEFL exam, candidates may visit the TOEFL registration website to check his test score. ETS usually sends the test scores to the Chinese Ministry of Education Examination Center (NEEA). The NEEA will then send the results to each test site. Usually 8-12 weeks after the examination, candidates can go to the ETS test center to pick up printed transcripts. With a paid service, a candidate can also ask the test center to mail the test result to him.

3. TOEFL fees:

By clicking the online payment button of Bank of China, China Industrial and Commercial Bank, or China Merchants Bank, you can pay online. Costs are as follows:
TOEFL iBT test fee: 1500 yuan
Late registration surcharge: 235 yuan
Fee for test transfer: 535 yuan
Restore the canceled score: 135 yuan
Score Delivery fee: 120 yuan for six schools
Individual review for speaking or writing test: 535 yuan
Individual review for both speaking and writingtests: 1067 yuan
TOEFL Test Prepare 1 1195 yuan
TOEFL Test Preppare2 660yuan
TOEFL Test Prepare 3 325yuan
TOEFL Test Prepare 4(only mock test)180 yuan

4. Application for individual review for a test

According to ETS(ETS)'s new decision, an application to individual test review must be submitted within one month of the test taking date. No individual review of a test will be permitted for the persons who have asked ETS to submit their test scores to college.

How to determine whether to take IELTS or TOEFL examination?

托福考试

发布于:2010年11月29日, 最新更新:2012年11月17日

TOEFL iBT考试

新托福iBT考试总分为120分,每部分30分, 包括阅读、听力、口语、写作。考试通过互联网进行,考试时间大约四个小时。考试过程中考生可做笔记, 题目难度与上一题回答是否准确无关。

考试阅读部分包括三篇文章,时间为60-80分钟,共有36-56题, 考察考生对文章的理解、分析能力。听力部分时间为60-90分钟,共有34-51题, 包括两个对话和四段演讲。口语部分为20分钟,包含六题, 其中两题为独立回答题; 两题要求考生以阅读和听力材料为基础回答问题; 最后两题以听力材料为基础回答相关问题。写作部分时间为50分钟,包括独立写作和阅读听力后再写作两道试题。独立写作试题要求考生根据自己的知识和经验陈述对某一问题看法; 阅读听力后再写作试题需要考生先阅读一篇文章,隐去文章后考生听一段演讲, 要求考生总结听力材料中的要点,并解释这些要点与阅读材料有何不同。听力和阅读中有些问题是不作为考试分数计算的新试题,供ETS分析试题难度是否合适,以决定是否将这些试题用于以后的测试中。

现在, 各个高校都越来越重视听力、阅读、写作和口语四部分科目的单独成绩。

中国大陆考生TOEFL iBT有关事项:

1. 报名流程: 登录教育部考试中心海外考试报名托福网考信息网。点击右上角的”考生需知“,了解报考信息和考试注意事项。再点击右上角的”考位查询“,  查询 考试时间与考位。然后, 点击左侧栏目中的”现在注册“,  注册一个NEEA的用户ID。登录NEEA账号,  进入“我的首页”,在里面进行考试的注册、更改、付款等。距考试日10天前(不含考试日和申请日),可申请转考。但只有在支付转考费, 并且要重新注册的日期和考场仍有空位时,转考才可能进行。

2. 考试成绩获取: 在TOEFL考试结束约15个工作日后, 考生可登陆TOEFL 报名网站查询成绩。ETS会将 成绩单寄往教育部考试中心(NEEA),由NEEA再分寄至各考点。通常考试后8-12周左右, 考生可前往报考考点领取ETS正式打印的成绩单。考生也可事先与考场管理人员约定办理成绩单有偿寄送事宜。

3. 托福考试各项费用:

通过点击相应的中国银行、中国工商银行或中国招商银行网上付费按钮便可开始进行网上付费。费用如下:
托福网考考试费      人民币1500元
逾期报名附加费      人民币235元
转考费          人民币535元
恢复已取消的成绩     人民币135元
成绩增送费(每份)    人民币120元  (每份可送6所学校)
口语或写作单项复议    人民币535元
口语和写作双项复议    人民币1067元
托福复习套餐1 人民币1195元
托福复习套餐2 人民币660元
托福复习套餐3 人民币325元
托福复习套餐4(仅模拟考试)人民币180元

4. 托福网考成绩复议申请

接美国教育考试服务中心(ETS)最新规定托福网考成绩复议申请必须在考试结束后30天内提出。如果考生在考试时填写了向学校或机构寄送成绩单,则不能对该次考试成绩提出复议。

附:如何确定是考雅思考试还是托福考试呢?