Introduction to American High Schools

Posted on: 2010 -11-29

Unlike China, American high schools include four years (9th-12th grade), equivalent to middle school third year to high school last year in China. In addition, high schools in USA come in many different categories: girls only, boys only, co-educational, military high schools.

I. Public High Schools and Private High Schools

American high schools can be categorized as public (Public High School) and private (Private High School) with the majority being public high schools, funded by the government for local students. Students attending public high schools don't need to pay tuition and fees. Public high schools are for all local students, though some schools mainly recruit 'top students'. Private schools are owned by private organizations or religious groups. Students in private high schools are required to pay tuition ranging from $10,000- $30,000 per year, unless they receive scholarships or grants from their schools. Students attending boarding schools also pay a boarding fee of $10,000-15000 per year. In general, private schools have smaller class sizes and more teachers, thus give more attention to each student. Therefore, graduates from private high schools have much greater opportunities to go to elite universities than students from public high schools.

Another difference between private and public schools is that U.S. public high schools are not allowed to accept foreign students for long-term studies. Public high schools can only accept J-1 foreign exchange students or F-1 students with a short-term residence period. No matter what kind of visa a student holds, in any public high school in the United States, legally the maximum time of attendance is one year. Public high school students are still required to pay tuition fees. On the contrary, U.S. private high schools can accept foreign students holding F-1 visas for long term studies.

Private high schools include boarding schools and day high schools. There are very good boarding and day high schools, but day high schools are far more than boarding high schools. The advantage of a private day school is its tuition is relatively low. But to a foreign student, he must either live with a relative or find a host family. For the former case, it is difficult to obtain a visa, while for the latter case, it is critical to choose a good host family, whereas choosing a boarding high school has no such headache. There are nearly three hundred private boarding schools in the U.S., thus school choice is still very large.

II. Secondary School Curriculum and Holidays

The high school academic year has two semesters, starting in September and ending in early June of the following year. Each academic year consists of three major holidays (summer, Christmas, or winter holiday and spring break). The U.S. high school has great flexibility in choosing courses. Unlike China, high school students in the U.S. do not have fixed classes. They also utilize an elective system to select courses. Different from secondary schools in China that focus on memory-based implementation of the knowledge, and apply a method similar to fitting in as many meals as possible into a duck's mouth that each question has a correct answer, American secondary education uses heuristic education. In school, students often discover data, and write their own research reports. Courses can be different in different schools. U.S. high school subjects include: English, algebra, geometry, physics, chemistry, biology, geography, U.S. history, world history, American literature, economics, foreign languages, computers, sports, etc. ; Elective courses include: advanced mathematics, art history, contemporary history, writing, photography, music appreciation, drama, speech, chorus and so on. For some outstanding students, most U.S. high schools also offer college credit courses. Students who achieve an AP Course grade 4-5 may receive university credit.

U.S. high schools usually have a wealth of activities outside class (extracurricular activities ), including all kinds of sports, instrumental music, chorus, art, sculpture, painting, speech, debate, drama, editing, and so on, which enable students to fully develop their abilities.

美国高中简介

发布于:2010 年11月29日

美国的高中与中国不同的是, 美国的高中有四年(9-12年级), 相当于中国大陆的初三至高三。 除此之外,美国的高中还有女校,男校,男女合校,军校之分。

一. 公立高中和私立高中的比较

美国的高中分为公立(Public High School) 及私立(Private High School)两种。公立高中占大多数, 由政府资助,供当地学生就读。学生就读公立高中不需支付费用。公立高中有面向普通学生开设的学校,招收“尖子生”为主的学校。私立中学隶则属于私人机构或宗教团体,就读的学生如果未拿到奖学金或助学金的话, 需缴纳每年10,000 – 30,000美元不等的学费。寄宿学校的学生还要交纳一年10,000-15000美元的寄宿费。私立学校一般班级人数较少, 师资力量较强, 对学生更加关注。因此私立高中毕业生升入名校的机会比公立高中大得多。

私立和公立的另一区别是:美国的公立高中不允许接受外国学生在公立学校长期学习。公立高中只允许接受短期的J-1签证外国交换学生或F-1签证学生。无论持有哪种签证在美国公立高中就读,  法定的最长时限为一年。学生仍需支付公立高中的学费。而美国的私立高中依法可以接受持有F-1学生签证外国留学生长期就读。

私立高中又分寄宿制和走读两种。 寄宿制和走读高中中各自有一些非常优秀的学校,但走读高中数目远远多于寄宿制的高中。私立走读学校的优点是学费相对较低,但对外国学生来说,只能是要么住亲属家,要么找寄宿家庭。前一种情况,签证较困难, 后一种情况呢,要选择好寄宿家庭。选择寄宿制高中就读,就没有这些麻烦。美国总共有近三百所私立寄宿制高中,  选择的余地还是很大的。

二. 中学课程和假期

美国中学于每学年九月开课,至次年六月上旬结业,共分两个学期。每学年包括四个主要假期(暑假、圣诞节假期、寒假和春假)。各校在选择高中学习科目上有很大灵活性, 学生没有象中国那样的固定班级,学生上课采用选课制。与中国中学实行背和记忆为主, 并且每道题都有一正确答案的灌输式教育不同的是, 美国中学教育采用启发式教育, 学生经常要自己发掘资料、撰写研究报告。不同学校的课程设置也可以有所不同。美国高中学习科目主要包括: 英语、代数、几何、物理、化学、生物、地理、美国史、世界史、英美文学、经济学、外语、计算机、体育等; 选修课包括 :高等数学、艺术史、当代史、写作、摄影、音乐欣赏、戏剧、演讲、合唱等。对于成绩优异或某些方面有特长的学生,美国中学大都还开设有大学学分课程(AP)。学生AP课程获得4-5学分,在进入大学后有可能获得学分的减免。

美国中学通常有丰富的课余活动(Extracurricular activities),包括形形色色的体育运动、器乐、合唱、美术、雕塑、油画、演讲、辩论、戏剧表演、刊物编辑等等数不胜数,  使学生的能力得到全面的发展。