Follow the Rules and Customs of the Country

Posted on March 1, 2011, Latest updates:2012-12-14

In recent years, Chinese students to the United States doubled, many of which came to the U.S. college and even high school students. Due itself is still in the formative years, plus many students are in a hurry to go abroad, the United States is not a deep understanding of cultural practices, often a Chinese way of doing things that moved over, give yourself unnecessary trouble. Even do not know the cause of sudden, a few American cultural practices and examples of sudden, sensational news. Chinese have a saying called Romans, hope you remember. Here we are under the circumstances we have seen, some of the most basic acts of recommendations made for your reference.

1. Pay special attention to language and behavior that might have "discrimination" or "harassment" against others. Discrimination here does not just mean racial discrimination; it also includes discrimination with regards to sex, disability and so on.

2. Leave at least a meter between you and the person in front of you when waiting in a line in a bank, a post office, a grocery store or any other place, unless it is a small crowded supermarket or a fast food restaurant. Americans do not like you standing too close behind them , and don't like you to see them paying; they see this as an invasion of privacy.

3. Do not make a lot of noise in public areas such as buses and subways. In general, the economic conditions of young Chinese students studying in USA are good today. However, it is often observed that young Chinese students make a lot of noise when when they are eating together in a restaurant, which brings very bad impression on Chinese.

4. Line up to get on the bus. Do not rush onto the escalator with a stranger. Do not squeeze into the same frame of rotating door with a stranger. When closing the door after entering into a building, don't close the door without paying attention to whether someone is right behind you.

5. Do not ask about the age, weight, property, income and other issues related to personal privacy, unless the person brings it up himself. For private matters involving issues such as love, marriage, family and health, if the person does not want to talk about those things in deal with you, do not try to encourage him to dig deeper. This behavior will irritate American people.

6.You need to leave tips in many places in the United States. For example, the tips for a meal or a barber is usually 15% -18% of the expense; a hotel tip is usually 1-3 dollars per day. For hotel tips, leave the tips on a desk or other obvious place in the hotel room. You should give tips every day, because the cleaning person each day might not be the same. Besides, on the last day you can leave a little extra.

7. Some newly arrived Chinese, who have not yet bought a car, like to ask to borrow someone else's. This is very irritating behavior in the United States. It makes you look like someone who do not understand the U.S. rules of behavior at all. You can rent a car, or even ask a friend to drive you somewhere in his car, but do not ask any person to lend his car to you. If an accident were to happen, and the insurance company found that the owner had lent the car to you, the insurance may not cover any damages, and the premium would skyrocket.

8. When communicating with Americans, you should speak within your ability. Having one, say one; having ten, say ten. Do not have to be humble as you are usually supposed to behave in China.

9. Unconditional obedience to the command of the police scene, and police do not direct confrontation, especially do not resisting arrest. American police and Chinese police are not the same, very rude and often abuse of power. If you refuse to obey police orders, ranging from being hit by a shock weight were killed. If the police are doing something wrong, save a good evidence of improper police enforcement to report after the lawyer,To locate their legitimate rights.

入乡随俗

发布于:2011年3月1日, 最新更新:2012年12月14日

近年来,来美留学的中国学生成倍增加,这其中很多是来美读大学甚至是中学的学生。由于本身还处在成长期,在加上很多学生是匆匆忙忙出国,对美国的文化习俗并没有很深了解,常常把中国的那一套做事方式搬了过来, 给自己带来不必要的麻烦。甚至还闹出几起因不懂美国的文化习俗而闹出轰动一时的新闻的例子。 中国有句古话叫做入乡随俗, 望大家切记。在这里我们根据我们见到的情况,提出一些最基本的行为建议供大家参考。

1. 要特别注意言语、举止是否有“歧视discrimination”或“骚扰harassment”他人之嫌,这里的歧视不仅仅是种族歧视,还有性别歧视、残疾歧视等等。

2. 无论是去银行、邮局还是商店买东西,除非是在空间拥挤狭小的超市或快餐店,否则在排队等的时候要站在一米开外,因为美国人讲究privacy,不喜欢你站着看他付帐。

3. 在公共场合例如公交车、地铁不要大声喧哗。如今的小留学生们一般经济条件不错,经常会看见几个小留学生在餐馆聚餐,常常碰到小留学生们在聚餐时大声喧哗,影响很不好。

4. 排队上车。不要与人抢着上自动扶梯,不要和不相识的人挤入同一格转动门,进入大楼关门的时候回头注意下后面有没有人跟着。

5. 不要随便问年龄、体重、财产、收入等涉及个人隐私的问题,除非对方自己谈起。对涉及个人私事的问题,如别人的爱情、婚姻、家庭和健康情况, 如果对方不想深谈,千万不要按中国人的做法寻根问底,这在美国是很让人讨厌的。

6.  在美国很多地方都需要小费,例如餐厅、理发等通常占15%-18%的消费;住旅馆通常每天支付1-3美元小费, 放在桌子上或其它显眼的地方。小费最好每天给,因为每天打扫的阿姨可能不是同一个人,  最后一天可以稍微多给一点。

7. 有些刚来美国中国人自己还未买车时喜欢问人借车,在美国这是很让人讨厌的行为,也显得你一点都不懂美国这边的规矩。你需要用车时可以去租车,甚至可以请朋友帮你开,但不要找人借车。出了车祸,保险公司发现车主把车借给别人开,保险费会爆涨。

8. 同美国人交往,应该大胆说出自己的能力,有一说一,有十说十。不必谦虚客气。

9. 无条件服从警察的现场命令,不要和警察直接对抗, 尤其千万不要拒捕。美国的警察和中国的警察不一样,非常粗暴且常常滥用权力。如果你拒绝服从警察命令,轻则被打被电击重则被击毙。 如果警察做得不对,保存好警察不当执法的证据,以便事后找律师告,以寻回自己的正当权力。