See a doctor in the United States

Published on:2011-12-03

In the United States, before seeing a doctor you must first choose a family doctor (primary doctor). You also must make an appointment to see a doctor. If for some reason you cannot go, you should call at least 24 hours in advance to cancel the appointment or reschedule. Some doctors will charge a fee if you miss an appointment.(Usually doctors who charge fees will have you sign an agreement during your first visit). You are required to carry an identification card and a medical insurance card. If you don't go to one of the clinics affiliated with the medical school of your university, you should carry your credit card or cash equivalent to the amount of copay when you see a doctor (Chinese Translation: 挂号费).

The most pleasant thing about seeing a doctor in the United States is that, no matter who you are, you often encounter a smile. Both doctors and nurses are amiable, make you feel at home. However, the appointment wait time is very long, and most medical insurance requires your family doctor to refer you to a specialist. The family doctor often asks you to first see him, and only refers you to a specialist if he cannot treat you, although, in cases of serious illness, you can see a doctor the same day. If your illness does not look serious, waiting three to five weeks before you finally see a specialist is often a common thing. Besides, U.S. doctors rarely have a concept of whole body health. There is no connection among each specialty. Often, if you have a headache, they treat your head; you feel pain in your feet, they treat your feet. So be sure to choose an experienced and responsible family doctor. Do not think you are strong and won't get sick. If you don't have a good family doctor at hand, and you fall seriously ill, your family doctor's judgment could be wrong and he or she could refer you to the wrong specialist, causing severe delay in treatment. Fair to say, when the condition is indeed very serious, the overall quality level of the doctors and the hospitals in the United States is still far better than that in China. However, the US health care system generally delays treatment in the early stage of disease development. So if possible, try to learn a little bit of basic medical knowledge, as well as the Chinese theory of self-cultivation.

U.S. insurance has two systems: in-network and out-of-network. The money an individual needs to pay is not the same for these two systems. Hence, you should try to see an in-network doctor. If, for some special circumstance of the disease, you must choose an out-of-network doctor, you can negotiate the price with the out-of-network doctor. Before any procedure, be sure to check whether it is fully covered by your insurance and whether your insurance requires pre-approval before the procedure. Besides, you should also carefully check medical bills and insurance letters. If you have any question about your insurance or medical bills, call the hospital or the insurance company over and over again to ask every question. Do not pay it by just following your bill notice without careful inspection of each item of charge, because it is common to have errors in the codes that hospitals report to the insurance company for reimbursement.

Dental care in the U.S. is very expensive. Even with the best dental insurance, you still need to pay some money to install crowns or implants. If a medical situation existed before you join the current insurance (pre-existing condition), your insurance won't cover crowns or dental implants, and dental insurance usually has a spending limit. Suffice it to say that if dental insurance is a student policy, the benefit usually won't be good.

在美看病需知和保险注意事项

发布于:2010年12月3日

     在美国看病你首先要选择一个家庭医生(primary doctor)。在美国看病必须预约。如果因为某种原因不能前往,应在24小时前打电话取消或重新预约,有些医生会罚款(会罚款的医生一般会在第一次看病所签的协议书上写着这一条签字)。 就医时须携带身份证件和医疗保险卡。如果不是在学校附属的医疗诊所就诊的话,最好携带信用卡或相当于挂号费(copay)的现金。

     在美国看病最好一点是不管你是谁,你碰到的常常是笑脸相迎,无论是医生还是护士都是和霭可亲, 让人有一种宾至如归的感觉。但是 ,   美国看病预约时间很长,并且大部分医疗保险都要求由家庭医生转到专科医生。而家庭医生又往往要求你先去看他,他无法治时,才把你转给专科医生。 虽然碰到严重疾病时, 可以当天就去看医生。但是当你的病看上去并不严重又需看专科时,等上个三五周是常有之事。另外, 美国的医生看病没有一个整体观念,各科之间无联系,往往是头痛医头脚痛医脚。因此一定要挑一个经验丰富又负责任的家庭医生。不要以为自己身体好不生病,但一旦你生了重病,没有一个好的家庭医生,判断不准,给你转错专科医生,七等八等的容易耽误。公正的说, 当病情真的很严重时,美国的医生和医院的整体水平还是远远好于中国国内。但是它的这套医疗体系在病情早期容易被耽搁。 所以有可能的话多学点基本的医疗知识,  还有中国的养身调理的常识。

      美国的保险有in network和out of network之分,两者个人所需支付的钱是不一样的。要尽可能选择in network的医生看病。如果由于病情的特殊原因,一定要选择out of  network的医生,可以尝试和医生谈一谈价钱。进行各项检查前,一定要搞清楚此项检查保险能不能报,能不能全报, 检查前需不需要保险预批准。要仔细查医药账单、保险单,对保险单和医疗账单上的任何一条如有疑问,要一遍又一遍地给医院和保险公司打电话,问清楚每一个问题。不要账单上叫你付多少,你就付多少。因为保险公司以及医院申报给保险公司用于让其支付账单的code出错是常事。

     美国修补牙齿很贵,即使是最好的保险,装牙套或植牙自己也要出一步分钱,而且既往病史装牙套或植牙保险通常一分都不能报的, 并且牙科保险通常有消费上限。学生的牙科保险就更不用说了。