Shopping in the USA

Published on:2011-12-03, Latest Updated on :2012-07-28

Buying Clothing

1) Factory Outlet (outlet store): the price of goods in U.S. outlets is usually only about 60-70% of the original price. Some universities also organize for their students to go to outlet stores for shopping.

2) Holiday Discount: In the U.S, the largest discounts are usually found on Thanksgiving or Christmas holidays. However, other major holidays often have bargains too.

3) Use vendor and shop discounts (rebates): manufacturers or stores sometimes offer discounts as product promotions. To qualify for such promotions, you often need to fill a discount form and mail it together with the purchase receipt to the specified address. You must strictly follow the manufacturer's time restrictions, and send everything with your purchase receipt within the time required, otherwise you will not receive a refund check.

4) Coupons (Chinese Translation: 折价券): discount coupons can be found in newspapers, magazines, mailings, on the internet, at the entrance to supermarkets, and may also be attached to the product itself for the next use. If any sale goods are sold out, unless stated that the discount is only valid until it is sold out, you can ask the store for a rain check, using it to purchase the product at this price next time.

5) Shopping through a cashback website

By buying things on a cashback shopping site, you can receive various degrees of promised cash back. You need to register an account for this type of website. Often these sites also offer discount shopping news. The most common cashback site is fatwallet.

Return Policy

Most shops accept undamaged returns, as long as you provide proof of purchase. Stores will give you a cash refund. If you paid for the goods by credit card, the refund will be returned to the credit card. As for the return time limit, it varies among stores, counting from the date of purchase, the allowed return time will be 7 days, 30 days, 90 days, 180 days or a year.

Purchase of Textbooks

you can buy textbooks on www.bookfinder4u.com. Please compare the price before you make any order. Enter the name of the book you want to buy on this site, it will show you that book's price on the major sites, including new books and the second-hand books. It should be noted that some prices haven't included the tax and/or postage. Wherever you decide to go to buy books, if you choose the lowest price you should be especially vigilant whether it has any hidden cost. Always contact the seller through emails when you have something unclear.

You can also compare the price of each buyer at AMAZON. Pay particular attention to the buyers' comments on that seller. Besides, be sure not confuse with different book versions. Alternatively, you can buy used books. The qualities of the used books bought on AMAZON are OK.

Amazon提供免费注册的Amazon Student项目,可以享受六个月的会员(Amazon prime),无限制的免费两天内送货(free two day ship)。六个月之后,只要购物满$35,还可以免运费,但享受不到两天内送达的福利了。不过,你可以花半价购买Amazon Prime会员,继续享受两天到货和所有会员福利。

在美购物常识

发布于:2010年12月3日, 最新更新:2012年7月28日

购买衣服

1)工厂直销店(outlet store):美国直销店经营的物品,价格大概只有平常货品之6-7折。有些大学也会组织学生去直销店购物。

2)节日打折:在美国, 最大的折扣日通常是在感恩节或圣诞节。不过, 其他重大节日也常有打折活动。

3)利用厂商及商店折扣(rebate):厂商或商店有时因为促销某产品提供折扣。此类促销方式常需填折扣表格,连同购买收据一起寄到指定的地址。记住一定要严格按照厂商要求的时间内寄出表格连同购买收据,否则会拿不到退款支票。

4)折价券(coupon):折价券可在报纸、杂志、网络、邮件以及超市进门之处找到, 也可能附在商品本身, 供下次使用。任何减价商品若已售罄, 除非特别申明售完为止,都可向商店索要rain check,下次可凭rain check按此价格购买该商品。

5)通过cash back 网站购物

通过cash back 网站购物,可得到许诺的不同程度的现金返还。你需要在这一类网站申请一个账号。这一类网站还常常提供网上购物的折扣消息。最常用的cashback 网站是fatwallet.

退货政策

美国多数商店接受包装未损坏的商品退货, 你只要提供购买凭据。商店会给你现金退款。如果用信用卡支付,退款将返还到信用卡。至于退货时间限制, 各商家不一, 从购买之日起有7, 30,90, 180天或一年不等。

购买课本

购买课本可以先去这里www.bookfinder4u.com/比较价钱后再买。输入想要买的书,这个网站就会搜出各大网站的价格,包括二手,新书。大家要注意有的价格是没有加税,或者没有加上邮费的。不论去到哪个网站,买二手书选最低价的那个要特别提高警惕有无暗藏的费用,有不清楚时多和对方email联系。

也可在AMAZON上比较各个买家的价钱后买书。注意要看以看大家对买家的评价,还有别搞错版本。另外,也可买旧书,AMAZON买的旧书质量还可以的。

Amazon提供免费注册的Amazon Student项目,可以享受六个月的会员(Amazon prime),无限制的免费两天内送货(free two day ship)。六个月之后,只要购物满$35,还可以免运费,但享受不到两天内送达的福利了。不过,你可以花半价购买Amazon Prime会员,继续享受两天到货和所有会员福利。