Means of Transportation in USA

Published on:2011-12-03, last updated on: 2015-07-23

Trains

Trains in the United States are divided into passenger and sleeper trains. U.S. national railway fares are not cheap. Often traveling by plane saves time and money over rail travel unless you book your tickets well ahead of time. Student tickets carry a 15% discount. However, Amtrak multiple travel plans provide good discounts, and are more economical than plane travel. Hence, if a college student plans to travel long-distance several times between the east and west coasts, then using the Amtrak discount can save a lot of money. On the internet, you can get Amtrak train schedules and fares. Currently, Amtrakhas has a disocunt ticket program for students and parents to visit colleges, sucn as "buy the second ticket receive 50% off".

Long distance bus

Greyhound bus (Greyhound) provides a convenient inter-city transportation to people who don't have cars. On the Greyhound website you can find bus schedules and fares. Order tickets in advance on the internet to take advantage of lower fares. If you want to travel to many cities in the United States during holidays, you can buy a Greyhound Discovery Pass, a 7-day bus ticket $246, 15 days: $356,30 days: $ 456 , 60 Days: $ 556 , which can be used for riding the Greyhound bus numerous times within a specified number of days, thus the price is really low. (Note: the Greyhound Discovery Pass has been discontinued recently. There is no information indicating that the Discovery Pass will be resumed soon. )

In addition to the Greyhound bus,other short or medium distance bus companies are Bolt bus,Megabus, Peter Pan bus,Shortline, Chinatown bus, Trailways,  Atlantic Coast Trailways , Capitol Trailways, Pacific Coachways Trailways. If you are lucky, you may get a ticket for only one dollar.

Each airport has airport bus, minibus and taxi, used for passenger transportation. Airport bus routes are generally from the airport to the city center or a big station. The airport minibus (Super shuttle) generally provides service from the airport to residential areas. Several passengers traveling in the same direction share one super shuttle together. A super shuttle ticket is more expensive than an airport bus, but cheaper than a taxi. Airport Bus, super shuttle and taxi stations are usually located close to the baggage claim area or the airport exit.

Book flight tickets and hotels

Search airline tickets and hotels on DIY Vacation, which allows you to quickly find the cheapest price. After finding the most cost-effective ticket, do not rush to place your order before checking the price on that airline's official website. In most cases the price doesn't differ by much. If the two prices are same, you'd better off buying the ticket directly from the airline because if you need to change your itinerary, you will pay less in fees. Also, most airlines will waive the fee if you cannot travel because of acute illness if you provide a doctor's note, but the fee cannot be waived if your tickets were bought through DIY Vacation or other discount tickets sites. Tickets and hotel prices are usually more expensive on weekends.

As for buying a ticket back to China, it was usually cheapest to buy tickets directly from a Chinese owned travel agency, but now the opposite often be true, and there are more times when it's cheaper to buy tickets on the internet. Because some airlines' prices fluctuates extremely, a round-trip ticket to China can even vary by $200-300 within a few hours, thus the price on the airline's official website could be much cheaper than that from a Chinese travel agency. It might be because the site automatically set up a program whereby if ticket sale are slow, the price goes down, and when a lot of people buy tickets, the price goes up. So if you want to save money, You can search airline tickets on DIY Vacation to find the cheapest tickets, then compare the prices with the ticket sold by Chinese agents. You had better watch the major airline websites in advance for two to three weeks prior to buying flight tickets online while also looking for possible promotional discount tickets from the Chinese travel agency.

You can get the price information for the flights flying to China on TravelSuperLink.com, which lists the price tendency on its website for the flights flying from USA to China. Besides, you can also check the recent flight price on iFlyChina.net, where some folks post the price for flight tickets they bought recently.

To get a cheap ticket for your travel plan, you can register on travelzoo (top20.travelzoo.com) for the best weekly deal. It often sends you news about some very attractive travel packages, such as living in a presidential suite for only $50, a round east side to west side trip for $100, or a Caribbean cruise for $200. Of course, unless you act on it very quickly, you won't get any of those deals. If you have a travel plan just before you leave, you might also check with CheapCaribbean.com, which has a lots of last minute travel packages.

Does the United States accept a Chinese driver's license?

Most states, such as New York, California, , Illinois, Virginia, all accept foreign driver licenses, including those from China. But some states do not accept Chinese driver's licenses. For example, Massachusetts does not accept Chinese driver's licenses (and also does not accept the "international driver's license" used together with the Chinese driver's license). It only accepts licenses issued by the countries in 1949 United Nations' Convention on Road Traffic (the United States only signed the 1949 Convention, and did not sign the 1968 Convention) plus Germany and Switzerland (mutual recognition of driver's license under bilateral treaties). Pennsylvania requires that foreign visitors hold their driver's license plus an International Driving Permit (of course, must be the real international driver's license issued by those countries listed on the Convention) to drive in its territory. Hence, you should consultant with the state Department of Motor Vehicles before driving.^ 1

The new version of the Chinese driver's license does not translate the car type into English, also doesn't have a translation of the driver's name and address and other items. Hence, the driver license still need to be translated into English.

Driving test

In the United States, getting a driver's license takes two steps of test. The first step is a written test. After passing the written test, you can take a road test. You will be granted a full license after passing the road test.

First, go to the DMV to receive a free test preparation manual. After preparing for it, go to the DMV for the written test. Fill in a form, pay the application fee, have your picture taken, have a visual inspection, then attend the examination. After passing the written test, you will receive a learning permit. With the learning permit, you can practice driving accompanied by a friend who has a valid driving license, or be tutored by a driving coach from a driving school. Although the difficulty of each state road test varies widely, one thing is always same: the most important thing the examiner pays attention to is the driver's awareness of, and compliance with, traffic rules. Because of this, when learning how to drive with a driving school, be sure to find a coach with an instructor's license. Since DMV doesn't usually check each coach's license, some small driving schools employ coaches with no license, who may be unable to teach students fully comply with traffic rules and requirements, resulting in these unlucky students often having to go through several road tests before passing. It cost more money than it is supposed to and also ruin the persons' self-confidence.

Immediately after you pass the road test, the examiner will give you a small piece of paper on the spot to certify that you have passed the road test. You can independently drive with this paper and your learning permit. The official license will be mailed to you within a few days.

交通安全
新泽西、特拉华、罗德岛、马萨诸塞、佛蒙特和缅因州等美国26州规定汽车后座成年人乘客要系安全带。纽约虽然没有这项规定,但靠近纽约的新泽西、特拉华、罗德岛、马萨诸塞、佛蒙特和缅因州都已实施后座乘客须系安全带的规定。

Renting a car

If you want to travel during holidays, you may consider car rental. We suggest you compare car rental prices and look for coupons on the internet. In general, the following car rental companies are popular in the United States:
Hotwire
Costco Car Rental
www.hertz.com
www.enterprise.com
www.budget.com
www.avis.com
www.dollar.com
www.alamo.com
另外,也可以在priceline网站上竟价,有时能得到非常好的价钱。另外,通过信用卡chase ultimate reward mall, citi thankyou points 的网站,也常常能搞到不错的价格。
Notes:

^1:  Germany Hotline Forum (Its original Chinese name: 德国热线论坛), Username: Odin God of War (The original Chinese user name: 奥丁战神)

美国的各种交通工具介绍

发布于:2010年12月3日,  最新更新: 2015年7月23日

火车

美国火车分为客车和卧车。美国国铁的票价不便宜,往往搭飞机比搭火车省时省钱。学生票有15% 的折扣。但Amtrak长途或多次搭乘的计划给予很好的折扣,  算起来就比搭飞机经济。因此若大学学生计划多次搭乘东西岸之间长程火车的话,使用Amtrak折扣可以省不少钱。从网络上,可以取得Amtrak火车时刻表和票价。目前Amtrak正在推出中学生和家长参观大学的火车票优惠计划,购买第二张票给予五折优惠。

长途汽车

灰狗巴士(Greyhound)给无车的人提供了一个方便的城市间交通工具。在灰狗巴士的网络上可以取得时刻表和票价。在网络上提早订购车票,可享有较低的票价。如果想假期在美国多个城市间游玩,可购买Greyhound Discovery Pass, 一张7天的长途汽车票票价$246,   15天: $356,30天: $ 456 , 60天: $ 556 , 可以供你在规定的天数内乘座无数次灰狗巴士,价钱相当便宜。(注: 灰狗巴士公司已于最近停止了此项折扣,是否会在将来重新启动不清楚。)

除灰狗巴士以外,中短途的长途汽车还有 Bolt busmegabuspeter pan busshortline, chinatown busTrailways,  Atlantic Coast Trailways Capitol TrailwaysPacific Coachways Trailways 。运气好时买到促销价,票价甚至可以低到一美元。

每个机场都有机场巴士、机场小巴和出租车, 用于接送旅客服务。机场巴士的路线一般是从机场到市中心或大的车站。机场小巴(Supper shuttle)一般提供从机场到住处的服务,几个同一方向的乘客共同乘坐一辆小巴。机场小巴车票比机场巴士贵,但比出租车便宜。机场巴士、机场小巴和出租车的乘车点通常设在行李提取处或机场出口。

订机票和旅馆

订美国国内的机票和旅馆用DIY Vacation, 可以让你很快找到最便宜的价钱。找到最划算的机票后,不要急着下单,先去那家航空公司的官网看一看,多数情况下价钱相差不大。如果两者的价钱一样的话,最好直接从航空公司购买。因为一旦您改变行程, 您损失的手续费会少些。而且如果您得了急病不能出行,凭医生证明,多数航空公司可以免掉您的手续费,而通过DIY Vacation订的机票就不能。同时周末的机票和旅馆的价钱比平时贵一些。

至于购买回中国的机票,以前一直是直接向中国人开的旅行社买,价钱最便宜。但现在出现相反的情况,网络便宜的例子更多。因为个别航空公司的价钱波动很大,甚至几小时之内回中国的来回机票可以相差两三百块, 这时候航空公司官网的价钱就比中国人的旅行社便宜很多。大概是网站自动设置了机票没人买价钱就涨,买的人很多价钱就跌的程序。所以如果想省钱,可以在DIY Vacation上搜国际机票, 与旅行社提供的价钱进行比较。买机票之前要提前在网上观察两三周,同时也等等中国人的旅行社时不时推出的促销折扣机票。

想了解飞往中国的机票价格走势信息,可以看一下 TravelSuperLink.com, 这个网站有美国飞中国的机票价格走势。 另外,也可以在 iFlyChina.net查看最近购买机票的价格,都是刚买了机票的人自己发布的成交价格。

想搞到便宜的机票去玩,可以订阅travelzoo(top20.travelzoo.com)的每周最佳旅游折扣票 。经常会有一些很诱人的促销项目,比如五十块钱住总统套房啊,一百块钱美国东西往返机票啊, 还有200块钱加勒比游轮游啊之类的。当然你动作绝对快才行,否则是抢不到的。如果你想出去玩,但只剩下数天了,可以查看 CheapCaribbean.com。网站的last minute travel packages。

美国是否接受中国驾照?

大多数州,比如,纽约州、加利福尼亚州、伊里诺依州、弗吉尼亚州,都接受包括中国驾照在内的外国驾照。但是也有一些州不接受中国驾照,比如,马萨诸塞州就不接受中国驾照(当然,也不接受和中国驾照一起使用的“国际驾照”),只接受1949年联合国道路交通公约的签字国(美国只签署了49年公约,没有签署68年公约)外加未签字的德国和瑞士(根据双边条约互相承认驾照)所颁发的驾照。宾西法尼亚州则要求国外访客持本国驾照加国际驾照(当然必须是公约名单上那些国家签发的真实国际驾照)在其境内开车。你应当向各州的Department of Motor Vehicles咨询之后再开车。^1

新版中国驾照没有把准驾车型等翻译出来,也没有翻译人名地址等项目,因此仍然需要做翻译。

考驾照

在美国考驾照要分两步走,第一步是笔试,通过后才可参加路考。路考通过后可以领取正式驾照。

先去机动车管理局领取免费的考试手册。看了后,到机动车管理局考试。填表、交申请费、拍照、查视力, 接着开始考试。笔试通过后, 可以拿到见习驾照。有了见习驾照,就可以在有驾照的朋友的陪同下练习开车, 或者请驾校教。尽管每个州路考的难易程度相差很大,但有一点是一样的: 考官最注重的是遵守交通规则的意识。正因为这样,在驾校学开车时,一定要找有教练执照的老师教。美国查得不紧,有些小公司雇的是没有执照的教练,教得东西不完全符合交通规则的要求,造成这些倒霉的学生往往要考几次才能通过。既多花钱又打击自信。

路考考出后考官会当场发给一张证明你已通过路考的小纸片,你凭这张纸片和见习驾照就可以独立开车了。正式的驾照会在数天后邮寄给你。

交通安全
新泽西、特拉华、罗德岛、马萨诸塞、佛蒙特和缅因州等美国26州规定汽车后座成年人乘客要系安全带。纽约虽然没有这项规定,但靠近纽约的新泽西、特拉华、罗德岛、马萨诸塞、佛蒙特和缅因州都已实施后座乘客须系安全带的规定。

租车

若是想用节假日出去旅游,你可以考虑租车,建议大家多对比找Coupon, 常用的租车公司的网站有:
Hotwire
Costco Car Rental
www.hertz.com
www.enterprise.com
www.budget.com
www.avis.com
www.dollar.com
www.alamo.com
另外,也可以在priceline网站上竟价,有时能得到非常好的价钱。另外,通过信用卡chase ultimate reward mall, citi thankyou points 的网站,也常常能搞到不错的价格。
备注:

^1德国热线论坛, 用户名奥丁战神